Cookies N’ Cream Ice Cream: The Real Deal.


There’s this one ad for a sweetener that plays a song that is really rather catchy. I find myself singing along to it, because I was sitting on the floor wrapping presents because I volunteered to wrap them all (can you tell my thinking process yet?). Anyway, I found myself singing it to myself last night as I made ice cream and Christmas cookies and soooo many other fattening things, only to realize that I was still not finished. Do you know the song? It goes somewhere along the lines of:

I love you sweetness…
But you’re not sweet
You made my butt fat
You drove me insane
Self control down the drain

Catchy, until you find yourself thinking about it all the time. And THEN, they posted a new ad yesterday that used the same singer and the same first verse. However, when I started singing along, it CHANGED WORDS. Soooo annoying, I just wanted to sing along, but NOOO. Whatevs. Anyway, my purpose here is to show you that I made some delightful ice cream that, for once, is NOT the light version, but full on ice cream. It isn’t as scary as you might think it would be to make either, and it is sinful.

So, my sister, her husband, and her baby are spending the week here with us, so I decided to give her a call and say “Hey! I want to make you ice cream because I am in love with my ice cream maker yadda yadda yadda so whaddaya want?” Her response was cookies and cream and, oh, “Make it the real stuff, thanks.” Okay, game on.

Truth is, ice cream is very easy to make, the concept of cooking it is what freaks people out. Tempering the eggs, making sure they don’t curdle in the pan, and so on. It just requires attention, that’s all, let’s get started.

Measure two cups of milk and, pictured, heavy cream. There’s something rewarding about putting heavy cream into a large cup, you feel like a sinner, but its white, so you feel like an angel as well. What can I say? I’m spiritual like that.

What I did was place a cup of the milk and a cup of the heavy cream into the saucepan to scald, along with the vanilla bean and its scrapings. Delicious.

I discovered over lots of times of making custards and ice creams over the stove is when you’re at the right time of scalding, the top of the liquid will tighten a bit like this. I know its not necessarily considered a good thing to let a skin form from the heavy cream (because that’s all that that is, the proteins cookin’ a bit), but when you temper the eggs and whisk it all together, its fine. Not only that, you’re straining the custard when its cooked, so any solids (i.e. the skin, scrampled egg bits, vanilla bean) will not be in the final product. You’re okay.

Now, I did this before any of the heating, but you can do it while you wait. Take your egg yolks and whisk them with the sugar on high speed in your mixer (or with your arms and a nice whisk, that’s what I did. What a workout!) until they become pale in color and form ribbons.

Like that! I think that the extra air incorporated into the yolks and sugar makes them a lot easier and less-risky to temper. I’ve never had a curdled egg problem using this method. When the milks are scalded and steamy, ladle a little bit of the liquid into the eggs, whisking constantly, until they are pale and very liquidly, and at least half of the milk mixture is incorporated. Oh, and hot. Tempering eases the eggs into the high temperature rather than shocking them into…breakfast. Then, whisk the tempered eggs back over the stove. Then you whisk until it starts to thicken! I used an instant read thermostat and tested the custard at 175 degrees. Just keep whisking! We are cookin these eggs!

Now, to test, dip a spoon into the custard and withdraw, then swipe your finger over the back, if the unswiped area doesn’t seep into the clean area, then you’re ready. This is a French method of checking a custard, gravy, or anything thick. It is called Nappe which means To Coat. Basically, you dip a spoon, hold it vertically, it should be coated and should not run into the clean metal strip when wiped. Nappe!

It sounds like something you would say at a party. Like Opa!

Nappe!

After straining, mix the remaining dairy in and refridgerate, covered, for at LEAST four hours. We need to get this as cold as possible to ensure maximum smoothness!

I made some homemade oreos from Martha Stewart’s recipe (Click here) but you are totally welcome to use storebought. Just chop em up in various sizes, ranging from chunky to almost powdered. It ups the texture.

Then stir em in AFTER the ice cream is all churned up! That’s the key! Freeze, scoop.

I love you sweetness…

Cookies And Cream Ice Cream
Ingredients
2 C. Heavy Cream
2 C. Milk
2/3 C. Sugar
7 Egg Yolks
1 Vanilla Bean, scraped

15 Chocolate Sandwich Cookies Chopped in Various Sizes. Make sure that the largest size is smaller than bite size.

Method
Freeze your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions. I like to freeze mine at LEAST 15 hours beforehand.
1. Whisk egg yolks with the sugar until pale and form ribbons, set near the stove. In a medium saucepan, combine 1 cup cream and 1 cup milk with the scraped vanilla bean seeds and pod.
2. Over medium heat, scald the milk mixture until steaming and scalded, at least 140 degrees. Whisking constantly, ladle the milk mixture into the egg yolks, until at least half of the mixture is incorporated. Pour the tempered yolks into the saucepan and heat over medium heat, whisking constantly, until the mixture thickens and coats the back of a spoon.
3. Strain the custard into a bowl, then mix the remaining cream and milk. Cover, and chill for at least four hours, or until very cold.
4. Freeze in your ice cream maker according the manufacturer’s instructions until the mixture looks like its at soft-serve stage.
5. Stir in your coarsely chopped chocolate sandwich cookies (you can hold back on some if you want, but this is cookies and cream ice cream, it plays a part!). Pour the finished ice cream into a freezer container and freeze for at least four hours, until firm. Scoop and enjoy!

Happy Baking!
Clara

Leave a Reply

