Pecan Pralines


Have you ever had a praline? A praline is a candy cooked to soft-ball stage. It is a candy made with brown sugar, milk, vanilla, and most importantly, pecans. You can’t be in the South without sampling a praline. They are so wonderful. Every week, I would go down to the River Street in Savannah to get a taste of a free praline sample from one of the most popular candy places in the city, Savannah Candy Kitchen. They make all of their candy in store, Salt Water Taffy, Gelato, Gophers, Candy Apples…but really, their namesake is their pecan praline. You get a free sample when you ask! It was always the highlight of my week, other than going to Panera Bread every Tuesday to get my actual meal.

Gosh dangit, college, why does your food have to suck? Oh who knows, as long as I got my turkey sandwich with fruit, I was fine, it was all the other days of eating an apple with vegetables that got my blood boiling. Only downside!

Well, Paula Deen had the owner and entrepeneur of Savannah Candy Kitchen on her show once! And, well, guess what he made? Pecan Pralines! Okay, I had to give it a go, and they are DELICIOUS. You have to give it a go!

Not only that, its simple. Boil this to a certain temperature, add this, stir until not so shiny. Easy. The only thing that tries your patience is the stirring, but think of it as an arm workout. Thing about the guns you’re going to get.

Not like…shooting guns…but like…arm guns. I have some guns, I have two, and while they aren’t too massive, they pack a punch. I owe that to baking. Kneading, stirring, anything, I love it.

Just…don’t REALLY pack a punch, but you know…figuratively speaking.

These aren’t friendly to my thighs. I’m training for a 5k in February. My goal in the coming years is to do two or three 5K’s, and then move onto a half-marathon. I couldn’t do a marathon if you held me at gunpoint, I could certainly try, but then you wouldn’t be able to find me at the finish; I’d be passed out in a field somewhere or picking daisies off in some fairyland somewhere. Just saying, I won’t do it.

But you know, you can do anything when you put your mind to it. I don’t want to sound corny/Remember The Titans ish in my speaking, but when you really put in the effort, you’d be surprised on how much you can accomplish.

Heck, maybe you can even fit a praline or two in the equation. Though I wouldn’t recommend two, they are so rich.

But anything is worth it if you really try.

Maybe I will do a marathon.

Savannah Candy Kitchen Pralines, Paula Deen

PS: Its PRAY-line! NOT PRAH-line!

The first is Georgia, the latter is Louisiana. Do NOT get them confused when you go down to Savannah.
…I’ve already done that.

Happy Baking!
Clara

2 responses to “Pecan Pralines

  1. I’ve never eaten pralines before but yours look absolutely delicious. Thanks for clearing up how to pronounce these. By the way, I’m holding a giveaway on my blog for Orglamix Organic makeup and you’re welcome to come by and enter. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2010/12/orglamix-organic-mineral-makeup-review.html

Leave a Reply

