Not Everything is Perfect!


I can assure you of that.

It’s cold today, well, not as cold as it could be, and I’m thankful for that. Although the high was about 50 degrees today, last year it was in the 20’s already. That’s not an exaggeration, it was extreme then.

Moving on.

So I got home from doing a bit of holiday shopping. And by holiday shopping, I meant getting a few things that I would wear for the holidays. What can I say? I do Christmas gifts differently, I bake them. It’s a good way to really give something of yourself to someone else. Do you like to give baked gifts for Christmas or the Holidays? What do you normally do? I would love to hear it!

Anyway, I had this idea swirling in my head for a few days. Red Velvet Pound Cake oooh, a pound cake with that wonderful red velvet twang and color (can’t you tell I’m kind of obsessed with this stuff?). Heck, it was worth a try. Doesn’t it sound like a pretty good thing to go for? Maybe it was a stretch, maybe it wasn’t. I didn’t see any recipes for it online, much to my surprise. Was I going to be the first? Was I going to get some sort of prize? Pulitzer for some reason? Nobel? JAMES BEARD?

Okay, maybe that was a bit of a stretch, but still.

So I gathered all of the necessary ingredients, bought two pounds of butter (a girl always has to be prepared, you know…). Of course, I made it a half-pound cake, and used a bundt pan. I didn’t want it to take as long as a normal pound cake. That takes like…forever. Whatevs…It was accomplishable.

The color was lush, ruby red. The batter was smooth and luscious, just like the last pound cake I had made (the lemon one, remember?), what could go wrong? Heck, I’ll just use the bundt pan that I haven’t used in ages! It’s just that purty! I’ll smooth it out and fawn over it and be excited, set the oven for an hour and fifteen minutes, it’ll be fanTASTIC.

Well, the toothpick came out clean, I inverted the pan. It was so purty and exciting and stuff, blabdiblah blah. Let me tell you this, and you listen good.

THE CAKE IS A LIE.

RAW. UNCOOKED. BATTER.

BAH. How DARE you, toothpick! How DARE you not notice this! Abomination.

Ah, well, at least it made for some interesting pictures that I was pleased with. I couldn’t get rid of them, the color was just too pretty to toss. I couldn’t stick the cake back in, it had already cooled relatively, it wasn’t worth it either. I was crabby, I hadn’t eaten carbs all day. Yay carrots, I love em.

Either way, the saying goes, The Cake Is A LIE. But I didn’t get too distresed about it, I just let it go, because I couldn’t seem to throw together a decent icing for it as well, it just wasn’t working. Ohhhhh weellllllll.

At least it made for an interesting scene from CSI or Dexter or something like that. Yeah? Ha.

New recipe tomorrow

Happy Baking!
Clara

3 responses to “Not Everything is Perfect!

  1. Girl you have too much time on your hands. Haha!
    That cake does look so pretty though!!

    It was seriously in the 20’s here today. And it’s going to be in the teens tomorrow I’m so excited!!!!
    Supposedly it snowed? I don’t think so. I didn’t see any white stuff when I woke up. Not a happy camper.

    Good luck on your next recipe!

    Best dishes & love
    -Astrid 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Not Everything is Perfect! « Clara Bakes -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

