Pumpkin Surprise Cheesecake – Say Thank You!


I will have you know that pumpkin is a controversial subject. Not everyone likes pumpkin pie, and i can respect that, I didn’t start liking it until a vew years ago, when I got past the texture and got to the flavor. I have had pumpkin pies in the past and, though I love them so, I just cannot stand the texture. Custard isn’t my favorite in terms of palate pleasure, it’s too eggy to me, eggy and strange. My problem is that I love flan, creme brulee, pumpkin and sweet potato pie and whatnot, but they all have that eggy-custardy texture. I’m honestly not a fan. When I think pumpkin, I think smooth, and if I had a choice, pumpkin cheesecake should be on the Thanksgiving table everywhere in the United States!

But you know, that’s just me. There are all sorts of opinions in the world, and mine is to embrace the wonderful world of pumpkin, ginger, spice, chocolate, and cheesecake all in one texture and experience. That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it.

Let’s give this a go, I had been planning to give this a go ever since the few weeks before coming home from school, the lack of a community kitchen only fueled the fire in this area.

Here, I used those gingersnaps that I made earlier that day to make a rather delightful crust. I love gingersnaps…

Have I already told you that?

I think so.

And then, of COURSE, the cream cheese. Isn’t it delightful? Big bricks of love.

I should be a spokesperson. Paula Deen was! Why can’t I?

Eggs, sugar, the ‘uge, you know, everything that makes cheesecake so wonderful.

Except here’s the difference, I took two cups of the batter out to the side before i mixed in the pumpkin and spices in, and added in cooled, melted chocolate to the mix. Finished the pumpkin portion then actually put a layer of pumpkin on the bottom of the pan, then added in all of the chocolate in an even layer, then topped off with the rest of the pumpkin. What was neat was that the on the baked cheesecake, the crust actually covered the chocolate layer, so its a surprise!

Bake with a waterbath! The most important aspect of it all! Don’t be discouraged if you find a crack or two. It happens! For me, it happened along the sides of the baked cheesecake if you look on the top. That’s why, in New York, you always see cheesecakes with the pie filling pooled on top! I betcha they are hiding cracks! Gotcha there!

Surprise! Pumpkin Chocolate Cheesecake! A sight to behold! But wait! There’s more!

There ya go! Hee hee, no cheesecake is complete wihout whipped cream!

So if you’re wanting to try something new this year on the Thanksgiving table, give this a go! You won’t be disappointed!

Pumpkin Chocolate Cheesecake
Ingredients
8 oz. Gingersnaps, pulsed into fine crumbs
2 oz. Unsalted Butter, melted
1 tsp. Brown Sugar
1/2 tsp. Ground Ginger
1/4 tsp. Kosher Salt

4 8 oz blocks Cream Cheese
1 1/2 c. Granulated Sugar
4 Eggs
1 tsp. Vanilla Extract
1/2 tsp. Kosher Salt
3 T. All Purpose Flour

For the Pumpkin Layers:
1 c. Pumpkin Puree
1/2 tsp. Grated Nutmeg
1/8 tsp. Ground Cloves
1 tsp. Ground Cinnamon

For the Chocolate Layer
6 oz. Bittersweet Chocolate, melted and cooled
1 T. Dutch Process Cocoa Powder

Method
Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place a cookie sheet in the oven and fill halfway with water, prep a springform pan with nonstick cooking spray and wrap the outside in foil, set aside.
1. Place gingersnap crumbs in a bowl and stir in salt, brown sugar, and grated ginger until combined. Slowly add in butter while stirring until you get moist crumbs, but not saturated. Press crumbs into the springform pan, all along the bottom and walls (halfway is fine). Place pan in the refrigerator to firm up.
2. In the bowl of an electric mixer, mix blocks of cream cheese until smooth. Add in vanilla, salt, flour and sugar until smooth, and add in eggs, one at a time, until completely combined.
3. Take two cups out of the batter and place into a separate bowl, stir in melted chocolate and cocoa powder until incorporated, set aside.
4. Add pumpkin, nutmeg, cinnamon, and cloves to the original batter and stir to combine.
5. Take the springform pan and pour in half of the pumpkin batter in an even layer on the bottom. Evenly spread the chocolate layer on top of the pumpkin layer, gently pushing it to the edges of the crust, top with remaining pumpkin batter and be sure to completely cover the chocolate.
6. Place foil-wrapped springform pan into the cookie sheet filled with water into the preheated oven. Bake at 450 for 12 minutes, then lower the temperature to 350 and allow to bake for another hour, or until slightly jiggly in the center and the edges are firm. If the cheesecake is still quite jiggly, bake in 30 minute increments, do not take the cheesecake when it is very jiggly, it won’t firm up.
7. Allow to cool to room temperature for two hours, then chill overnight until ready to serve. Top with whipped cream, enjoy!

Happy Baking! Happy Thanksgiving!
Clara

2 responses to “Pumpkin Surprise Cheesecake – Say Thank You!

  1. This cheesecake is amazing. I love that chocolate layer in the middle. I think you’ve hit on a Thanksgiving dessert that no one would be able to resist.

Leave a Reply

