“Did Y’all Like Your Breakfast?”

I just wanted to let you know that dreams do come true.

They really do.

I have a friend, Heather, who is on the board of directors for the Ronald McDonald house here in Savannah, which housed a family who’s baby boy was born premature and in a dire situation. Miraculously, he survived, recovered from almost everything that he was born with, and is a healthy and happy near two-year old. They were the sweetest family. Well, they applied for Extreme Makeover Home Edition, I’ll elaborate later.

Heather is a good friend of Paula Deen’s. You can say that when I found this out, I was in hysterics. So, I was talking to one of my dorm neighbors the Friday before last about how happy I was to finally get an upgrade so I could get an iPhone 4 with major discounts when I get a call from Heather. I answer it, and the conversation is as follows:

Heather: “Hey, Clara! I was just wondering if you maybe were INTERESTED in having a sponsored breakfast with Paula, Bobby, and Jamie Deen over at the Lady and Sons next Friday?”
Clara: “:screams and collapses:”

No, I’m not kidding. So I did that painting for her in the previous post and head on over there on Friday morning with Heather. We get breakfast on the third floor of the not-yet-open Lady and Sons (they really open at 11, and there is always a massive line, starting at 8 A.M.) Heather’s friend from the board of Directors tells her that we have to hurry, because they are closing the doors at 9:30, its 9:32. I’m like “Oh no oh no oh no.” Heather tells me not to fret (and she doesn’t understand why they were closing the doors), and we get to the front of the line and try to find an employee, we do and Heather tells her that she is from the Board at the Ronald McDonald house, we are let in and I eat one delish breakfast (you haven’t had a biscuit until you’ve had Paula’s).

Thirty minutes later, Paula comes out with this camera crew and we cheer and she talks to us all (there are probably about 30-35 of us in the room). She tells us that the Lady and Sons uniform-clad camera crew is just taking pictures for the website so that people who didn’t get to experience this appreciation dinner for the family who was in the House could experience it with us. I was tensed, wanting to cry, and couldn’t take that many pictures because a lady kept standing in my field of vision. These were the best I could get.

I’m not done yet.

Paula: “Did y’all like your breakfast?”
Everyone: “Yayyy!!”
Paula: “Well, I have a confession to make. I had some help with making breakfast for y’all. I had some help with some celebrity chefs. Come on out y’all!”

And um…look who came bursting out of the kitchen with more cameras:

“GOOD MORNING SIMPSON FAMILY!!!!”

That’s right!! TY PENNINGTON AND THE EXTREME MAKEOVER CREW came running out to tell the family that they won the house makeover!! It was the reveal that you always see at the beginning of the show! Except, instead of coming to their house, they came to our breakfast!! Those Lady and Sons camera crewmen were disguised ABC crew members!! Oh my goodness.

It was a taping! I might be on TV!!!

I can’t get over how emotional this was!

Ahhh!!

There wasn’t a dry eye in the place! It really was a beautiful moment!! As we speak, the family is on a Disney cruise to the Bahamas! Ahh! What a wonderful morning!!

Dreams DO come true!!

You can read all about it if you want! http://savannahnow.com/extreme-makeover/2010-11-12/carmen-and-jim-simpson-selected-extreme-makeover-home-edition-family

Happy Baking!
Clara

4 responses to ““Did Y’all Like Your Breakfast?”

  1. Oh. My. Gosh. I am SO jealous!!! How wonderful!

Leave a Reply

