These are a Few of My Favorite Things


I’m leavin’, on a jetplane.

Won’t be ’till November when I’ll be back again.

Oh, readers, I hate to goooooo.

But don’t worry, I won’t be gone gone. Unfortunately, there are no kitchens in my dorm, and so baking isn’t something that is possible for me until winter break. I certainly can try in other ways, but I can’t guarantee too much in the baking area. HOWEVER, I will not abandon you guys! You all have been with me through thick and thin, and I love you all for it. It would be awful for me to just stop posting one day just because I am a college Frosh.

On Bravo channel, starting fairly soon (I believe after the current Top Chef season ends), there is going to be a Top Chef: Just Desserts. I, an avid viewer of the show, figured that maybe I could post a little review after each showing each week. It sounds like an exciting thing for me! I’m really looking forward to the show’s premier, thank goodness we have cable TV at the dorm!

I just wanted to take the time here to say that I really love you guys. I really love you, and I really appreciate the time that you take to read my blog. I couldn’t be more grateful. I loved being able to show you how to do things, having a little class for each post. I love the feedback, and I love the recommendations that you all have given to me from making cheesecake.

To me making my first custom order cake.

I love you all so much, and I promise to post at least once a week while I am out in a new place.

I have to tell you, when I started this blog, I didn’t think that I would be able to carry it on. I was shy and new. My first blog post? I was so nervous you wouldn’t believe it! I mean, I was at my keyboard during school, thinking “Gee, what if I started a blog? How neat would that be!” and then I start it, began to type, and thought, “Gee, what if I didn’t start a blog? How would that be? What am I doing? Oh my golly!”, but I kept on and made my first post.

And now, 160 posts later, I have become more comfortable with myself and I feel like I’m coming out of my shell. Thank goodness for that, because if I didn’t break out of my shell, I don’t think I would have had the gall to apply to an upper-level art school with confidence. So really, without you, I wouldn’t have gotten to the point where I am now. It’s amazing, and I thank you.

I am so thankful for everything I have and for everything that I have accomplished.

To Dad: Thank you for loving everything that I bake, even the flops. Thank you for the help that you have given me over the years. Thank you for going to lunch with me so often all the time, I really love spending time with you, and I love your constant love and encouragement that just keeps me going on with a smile on my face each day.

Imagine the weight you’ll lose when I’m gone :). I love you.

To Mom: Thank you for being my shoulder to sob on when I drop a pan of perfect cookies, and thank you for being there when I get home from school. Thank you for being a constant support in my education, my art, and my baking in general. Without you, I wouldn’t be the artist that I am. Thank you for always encouraging me and telling me the constructive criticism that I need and want to hear.

Oh, also, I really love watching Law&Order, Big Brother, Project Runway, Work of Art, Top Chef, and who knows how many other shows that dad doesn’t like, with you! I love you :).

To Christine: Thank you for being my sister. I know that we have had our little tiffs from time to time, but that’s what the relationship of the middle sister and the baby sister is for! You have really helped me get through high school with your words of encouragement. I miss you so much, but I love talking with you on the phone and on Skype. I remember our little times on Saturday mornings, baking Hershey’s brownies and chocolate chip pancakes while watching The Price is Right. The blueberry muffins and the cupcakes. My favorite things ever were the brownies sprinkled with powdered sugar. Say all you want, but without you, I would never have been a baker. I love you so much.

I also love that cute little baby of yours!

To Catherine: I was inspired to pursue an art degree because of you, and I was always inspired to draw by your wonderful artworks and paintings. I’ll always remember me playing Banjo and Kazooie in the game room and you’re in your room next door, working on your watercolor with the sunflowers, the teddy bear, and the tiger stuffed animal. The way you had the lighting, and I can remember how hard you worked on it, I even remember the place where you sat. I remember thinking, “Wow, I want to be an artist just like her.” and look where we are. I couldn’t have done it without you, big sister!

Did I mention that you were Superwoman with your two sets of twins? Well, you’re Superwoman with your two sets of twins.

Oh my goodness, Avery: I can’t live without you. Help me.

Thank You, So Much ❤

Happy Baking!
Clara

7 responses to “These are a Few of My Favorite Things

  1. Clara, we are all so proud of you and know you are on your way to an amazing opportunity to become all that you want to be. You have all the tools now. Go for it and don’t ever doubt yourself! You have learned some tough lessons and learned how to be on your own, a lesson many learn later in life. You are more ready than ever to fly. Have a great time, and come see us when you get back. Your kind words mean a lot to me.

    I know soooo many of us readers will miss the posts as we learn how to bake from the best! Love you.

    • Christine, this didn’t help my effort to not cry more than the forty-plus times I have already today. Move in day is tomorrow. We forgot to buy a blanket at Bed Bath and Beyond. I cried. I’m going to cry more tomorrow. But then, that’s the fun of college, right? Right?

      🙂 Thank you! I wuv yooouuu.

    • Oh, also, there is a Fuddrucker’s here, so you’ll be right at home when you come visit…next week? Yeah. Haha!

  2. Have a great semester! Maybe you could do some bakery reviews or something like that?

    • Thank you!
      While walking around here, there are a few little places that i am certainly interested in! Not only that, but I get a student discount? Hot dang! Haha

  3. Aaah crap! I’m gonna miss your new ideas and recipes really badly!!!

    Have a wonderful semester! 🙂 And try not to abandon us completely!!!

    x

    • I promise not toooooo!!! I’ll make little posts about all sorts of new things. There will be some photography, I am in awe of how beautiful this city is. I can’t believe my school is situated right in Downtown! Amazing!!

Leave a Reply

