Seven.


Seven.
Seven days left until I voyage to my new school. Seven days until I grow up. Seven minutes.

Until you press the [X] button.

Seven seconds until I change the subject. Seven milliseconds until I tell you about a new recipe that I have probably looked at and considered making seven times before. Seven ingredients.

And now I can’t think of anything to associate with the number seven.

Seven.

Today, I made Pioneer Woman’s Spread Cookies. Basically, its a chocolate chip cookie dough without the chocolate chips IN the dough, but rather, on top of the dough. Its an interesting concept, but I had to change things up a little bit, just because I didn’t have a certain key ingredient.

She calls for margarine, but I don’t typically have margarine, so I used butter. The only difference that this made was the dough was actually a bit more dense than usual, so I used a bit of milk to thin it out a bit. Which was nice, it actually gave the cookie a creamy taste.

Basically, the completed dough is spread on a sheetpan, baked until golden.

Sprinkled with chocolate chips while still hot, and allowed to sit until the chips get shiny and melty. Then they are spread around the ginormous cookie :). I won’t type for a moment, I’ll let you absorb all of this.



This is so much fun! But then again, I find a lot of things associated to baking fun. I giggle incessantly when I bake a cake. I leap with joy when I pull off a perfect pie crust. I run into the other room every five minutes saying “Mommy! Daddy! Look what I did! I made these really super interesting COOKIES!” Okay no I don’t.

That’s a lie, yes I do. This is my blog, I’m supposed to be confessing here.

But, anyway, make these today! I thought that they were going to taste just like any other cookie dough, but they really were special.

I’ll talk to you tomorrow, its football day tomorrow! Boomer sooner!!

Spreads
Ingredients
1 cup Brown Sugar
1 cup Margarine (I subbed with Unsalted butter, and added about 1/4 C. milk, just to soften the mixture more)
1 whole Egg
2 cups Flour
½ teaspoons Salt
1 teaspoon Vanilla
6 ounces, weight ( To 8 Ounces) Chocolate Chips

Method
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Mix together brown sugar and margarine. Add egg and mix together. Add flour, salt, and vanilla, and mix together well.
Spread dough onto cookie sheet to a thickness of 1/4 to 1/2-inch.
Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until slightly brown. At this point, pull out of the oven and sprinkle chocolate chips evenly over the top. Return to oven for 1 minute. Remove and spread melted chips over the top. Cut into squares.

Happy Baking!
Clara

Leave a Reply

