Peach Ice Cream


I’m saddened. Saddened by the fact that all of my friends are scooting off to college and I’m staying here for another three weeks. I am the last person to truck out, and I am also the first one back on breaks, and the one who stays the longest for my winter break. Okay, so my Spring Break is a week long, and I will be staying in Savannah for that, but my WINTER break is two MONTHS long. I can’t believe this, its sweet but also bitter, its bittersweet. It’s freaking awesome, it’s freaking awful. It’s life. Life is like this.

And I’m prepared for it, I’m sooooo ready for life. Here I am, life, ready for your loving embrace.

For you, life, I have made light peach ice cream. You may have noticed that all of my ice cream recipes are light, this is for the sake of all of us. Please note that I bake every day, sometimes multiple times. Sometimes I make several batches of cookies, I bake cake balls, i bake a lot of things. We don’t need premium ice cream, for our sanity.

I can only think of how much weight my family and I will lose (and I don’t have that much to lose!) when I go off to college. My dad is clicking his heels in the background.

I may have told you before that, every weekend, mom, dad, and I go off to our local peach orchard and pick a fairly hefty bag of peaches. Thank goodness for peaches, I could eat them all the time. In fact, I do, and I love the fact that they aren’t naughty nutritionally-wise, we always lose weight when we eat them. Not only that, but what more of nature’s candy is the glorious peach? Oh goodness, nothing beats eating a peach just picked from the tree, its still hot from the sun, and you feel like you deserve a treat because you spent 5 minutes in 105 degree weather (our past Sunday) standing in a vast grove of thriving trees, picking fruit that you plow through in a week.

I love Summer.

Anyway, I stuck some in the freezer so that, in the event that I wanted to make a puree, I could simply thaw, peel, then easily puree an essentially already-mashed peach. Five peaches was all that it took. I tasted the puree and found it to be a tad bit sour. Considering that these were Sentinel peaches, or the first in the season that are a bit more tart than, say, Encore, or the last ones in the season (my fav). About 1 1/2 teaspoons of sugar remedied this, but, of course, you can adjust according to your taste. I also added cinnamon, because cinnamon compliments peaches in so many ways. It makes the puree smell like cobbler, in my opinion.

I also added a vanilla bean, because vanilla also compliments peaches. Along with that, peach preserves, which are really pretty concentrated, added a bit more complexity to the flavor. What is so lovely with this is that the custard is so remarkably…well…custardy! It thickened beautifully because of the puree, and also because of the puree, it was so rich! The slight warmth that the cinnamon flavor makes an awesome flavor contrast to the coldness of the ice cream, as well as making the peach flavor…well…peachy.

Give it a go! Its soooo worth a try!

Peach Light Ice Cream
Ingredients
3 Cups 2% Milk, separated by half (1 1/2 C.)
1 Can Fat Free Condensed Milk
3 Egg Yolks
1 T. Peach Preserves
1 Vanilla Bean, split and seeded (reserve the pod for your sugar jar!)
1/2 tsp. Sea Salt
5 Small Peaches, peeled and pureed, yielding about 1 C. of puree
1 tsp. Ground Cinnamon
1 1/2 tsp. Sugar (for the puree, adjust to the taste of the peaches.)

Method
1. Puree peaches in a food processor until completely fine, blend in cinnamon and sugar and set aside. Combine egg yolks, condensed milk, and peach preserves in a separate bowl and whisk thoroughly to combine.
2. Place vanilla beans, peach puree, and 1 1/2 cups milk in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Heat until the mixture steams and is hot. Ladle in a small amount of the mixture with the egg yolks and condensed milk, whisking constantly. Continue to ladle until about half is combined with the yolks.
3. Whisking constantly, pour the mixture back into the the saucepan and stir consistently over medium heat until the mixture feels very hot, steams, and coats the back of a spoon. I went for about 5-6 minutes of constant stirring.
4. Pour the mixture into a fine-mesh sieve over a large bowl. Stir gently to get all of the liquid out, discard the solids. Whisk in the remaining milk, cover, and refrigerate for at least 5 hours, until thoroughly chilled.
6. Prepare ice cream in your ice cream maker, according to the manufacturer’s instructions, then freeze for at least two hours before serving. Enjoy!

Happy Baking!
Clara

2 responses to “Peach Ice Cream

  1. As soon as I get that food processor I’ve been begging my mom to get me, I will make this! haha

Leave a Reply

