Carrot Cakes

Hi, my name is Clara, and I don’t post very often. Thus disappointing my readers.

Love you..

With the thought (and reality) of SCAD quickly approaching, it is getting a bit difficult to post, since I am working for my dad, preparing for school, and just getting back from New Mexico. But, needless to say, I will try my best to post AT LEAST fourteen times this month, that’s my quota, and I try very hard to stick with it. I apologize for any disappointment.

I would like to let you know that carrots are hard to shred. I would also like to let you know that baby carrots are hard to shred. Very hard to shred. Seven ounces, in fact.

Next time I’ll get big carrots…

I ate so many of the scraps, yay carrots!

The batter, at first, doesn’t look all that great. But, heck, it smells good! That’s what matters. It looks better when you add the flour.

But the secret here is…

Call me crazy, but this works so well! It adds a richness and moisture to the cake that simply cannot be beat. Not very much is needed, but the amount is just right, in my opinion.

So, here we have it! They are very pretty! I recommend filling the cups about 2/3 full, the cupcakes rise quite a bit. They are tender and uber moist.

You can top with cream cheese frosting and eat them like that, or you can simply enjoy them by themselves. They are almost like a quickbread! Delish.

Carrot Cake Cupcakes
Ingredients
7 ounces shredded carrots
3/4 C. MINUS 2 T. Vegetable Oil
2 1/2 T. Milk
1 T. Vanilla Extract
1 Egg
1 C. Packed Golden Brown Sugar
2 C. All-Purpose Flour
1 T. Ground Cinnamon
1/4 tsp. Nutmeg
1/4 tsp. Salt
1 tsp. Baking Powder
1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
1/4 C. Molasses

Method
Preheat oven to 325, prepare cupcake tins with liners, and whisk together all dry ingredients, set aside.
1. Mix together carrots, oil, milk, vanilla, egg, and sugar until well-combined. Gradually add in flour ingredients until just combined.
2. When flour is mixed in, add in molasses and mix until combined.
3. Fill cupcake cups about 2/3 full of batter and bake in preheated oven until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out dry, about 20-23 minutes.
4. Enjoy!

Happy Baking!
Clara

Leave a Reply

