Yellow Cake I Guess?


This one’s an interesting one. I started off this morning with just having this…oh gosh darnit, I’ll say it, a hankering to make yellow cake. But NO, I COULDN’T follow a recipe, I HAD to make it on my own. I HAD TO. I could see it then, I had this HUGE intention of creating a lightly sweet, slightly buttery, slightly twangy cake with a nice light crumb to showcase for you guys.
Well, the last part didn’t make it. What I actually ended with was more of a pound cake than anything else. I can’t complain, I suppose, I’m just a bit let down by it, but the flavor profile I was going for is definitely there. That’s what I was going for. My parents actually like the texture of it, I’m not saying its bad, I’m just disappointed in it because it wasn’t my original vision for the cake. Maybe I can whip up the egg whites next time I make this and fold them in for that light crumb I was going for. But, in the end, this is definately a butter cake, no doubt about it.

First, cream 1 1/2 sticks of unsalted butter and 1 cup of sugar together until light and fluffy, about two minutes. Then, add in 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla extract, then as an OPTIONAL THING, add in 1/4 teaspoon of butter flavoring. It just makes things a little more…buttery. I know what you’re thinking…

…Stop it.

Okay, after beating all of that together, mix in the 4 egg yolks, one at a time, until everything is mixed in. Look at that last picture! Look at that COLOR!! Is that not the most gorgeous color? I so love that color yellow…it’s so happy…it makes me make up words.

It makes me squee.

Then, from your separate bowl of 1 3/4 cups of cake flour, 3/4 teaspoon salt, and 1 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder, pour 1 cup of the mixture into the cake batter and mix until combined.

Then add in half of your 1 1/4 cups buttermilk. Repeat this process, and be SURE to end with the dry. I like to go like this.

Dry-Wet-Dry-Wet-Dry

There you have it.
Take your batter and put it in two separate 9 inch cake tins and bake for 30-35 minutes, or until a toothpick from the center comes out clean. The cake won’t really brown, and it is very smooth on top, don’t let that fool you. Let the cakes cool in the pans for 10 minutes then invert and cool completely. Be careful, these are delicate. Let’s start that frosting.

Do this first. Combine 5 tablespoons of flour with milk. You will have 1 cup of milk, add in 1/4 of that to the flour and whisk to combine without the heat on. Now, turn on the heat to medium and whisk in the rest of the milk. Continue whisking for a few minutes until the mixture gets hot and very thick, add in 2 teaspoons of vanilla, mix, and pour into a bowl to cool completely.

Melt 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, bittersweet, and allow to cool. These take less time to cool than the flour mixture. In fact, prepare the flour mixture while your cakes are still baking, you want it super cool.

SUPER DUPER.

Caught the movie reference? No?

Fine. I’ll move on then…

Combine 1 stick of softened unsalted butter with the chocolate and mix until combined.

Add in 1 cup of sugar and 1/3 cup of cocoa powder, mix until combined. Pour in the cooled mixture and mix on medium high until all the graininess is gone.
Please note that this frosting is a little bit runny, its fine. Its very rich, and you will find that a little goes a long way. Please look at the cake slices later on, that’s an adequate amount of frosting to cake.

Frost yo’ cake!

You see how tightly crumbed this cake is? Its very dense, similar to a pound cake. I betcha that next time I make this, just to try it out, I’ll whip up the reserved whites and fold them in. Maybe i’ll get what I was going for initially.

But I won’t knock on this cake too badly. Try it out yourself! Let me know!

Buttermilk Yellow Cake
Ingredients
1 3/4 cups Cake Flour
1 tsp. Salt
1 1/2 tsp. Baking Powder
1 1/4 cup Buttermilk
1 1/2 sticks Unsalted Butter, softened
1 cup Granulated Sugar
2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
1/4 tsp. Butter Flavoring (optional)
4 Egg Yolks

Method
-Combine flour, powder, and salt in a bowl and set aside. Also, spray two 9 inch round cake pans with baking spray and preheat your oven to 350.
1. Combine butter and sugar in a heavy-duty stand mixer, mixing on MEDIUM HIGH for two minutes, or until light and creamy. Add in extracts and mix in, then mix egg yolks, one at a time.
2. Starting and ending with the dry ingredients, add in the flour and buttermilk in increments, mixing well after each addition.
3. Pour batter evenly in prepared baking pans. Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until no longer jiggly and a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool in pans for ten minutes, turn out, and cool completely.

Chocolate Cooked Frosting
Ingedients
1 stick Softened Unsalted Butter
1/2 Cup Bittersweet Chocolate, melted and cooled (about four ounces)
1 cup Granulated Sugar
1/3 cup Cocoa Powder
1 cup Milk
5 Tablespoons Flour
2 tsp. Vanilla Extract

Method
PREPARE FLOUR MIXTURE AT LEAST 30 MINUTES BEFORE PREPARING FROSTING.
1. In a small saucepan, combine flour with 1/4 cup milk, whisk to combine. Turn heat onto MEDIUM, and whisk in the remaining flour. Whisk continuously as the mixture heats and eventually thickens. Whisk in vanilla. Pour mixture into a heat-safe bowl and allow to cool completely.
2. Combine butter and cooled chocolate in the bowl of a heavy-duty mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Mix until combined, add in sugar and mix until lighter in color and fluffier. Add in cocoa powder and mix until combined.
3. Add in COOLED flour mixture and mix on MEDIUM HIGH until all the graininess is gone. Mixture should be slightly runny.

Happy Baking!
Clara

Leave a Reply

