Just Like Disney!

For those of you who have been to Disneyland (or Disneyworld), you have seen those little sidewalk stands that sell little fried bits of delish? Heck, or even the carnival.

I just wanted an excuse to think of Disneyland… considering that I’ll be living in Savannah for my next few school years, I might be able to make some pilgrimmages to Orlando. In fact, might isn’t an option, it’s HAVE TO. I just hope that there won’t be any freak flooding storms there…like there have been here.

Thank goodness for french drains, thank goodness for a pool pump to get out the excess water for five hours. We got ten inches of rain this morning!

Ahem, let me continue. Churros are essentially doughnuts, except not rings, but logs that are kind of in a ‘star’ shape, then coated in delicious cinnamon sugar. Not only though, but its not really a dough, per say, as much as it is a pate a choux.

Here’s a link to the choux recipe, since the making of the dough is exactly the same.]

There, now that you have your dough finished, put it in…

A bag fitted with a large star tip (I used Ateco 1M), then chill it for a little while. You can use this time to get your frying oil up to temperature. Meanwhile, as well, I want you to..

Get out a paper bag and fold down the top a little bit, to that, add in three tablespoons of sugar, one tablespoon of cinnamon and the zest of one orange.

Shake the bag a little bit to get everything all mixed up. When your oil has reached 350 degrees, keep it there, and pipe in a little bit of dough. I kept each strand at about 2 1/2 to 3 inches.

Stir them around for a little bit, they will sink to the bottom at first then float up to the top. Watch your oil! Don’t let it get too cool! Just do about three to four at a time and moniter your oil, this is a bit hard to do, since it was really my first time to do it. Use that candy/deep fry thermometer that I KNOW you have.

When they are a nice and deep golden brown, take them out.

Let them drain for a little bit (about twenty seconds).

Then drop them in the bag, shake them around, and then remove them.

Enjoy them while they are hot! The recipe actually says to have a bit of chocolate sauce with them, but I didn’t get to do that :/, I bet they would have been really good with it too!.
Churros
THERE IS A HOW TO VIDEO IF YOU CLICK THE LINK
Ingredients
18oz – Water
7oz – Butter
1tsp – Salt
1.5oz – Sugar
15oz – All Purpose Flour
5ea – Whole Eggs
3oz – Pistachios (crushed) (I OMITed)

Method
Add Water, Butter, Salt, and Sugar in a sauce pan and bring to a boil.
Remove mixture from heat and stir flour and Pistachios until combine.
Place mixture back on heat and stir until the batter releases from the sides. (Approximately one minute)
The batter will go into a table top mixer on first speed, and then add two eggs at a time until incorporated. Let Churro Batter slightly chill before frying.

Finishing Procedure:

Preheat fryer to 350° and Temp.
Place batter in a large piping bag and fill ¾ of the way full.
Pipe 8 inch long churros into fryer, once churros start to brown flip each one and fry until golden brown. About 3min.
Pull and dust with cinnamon sugar. Serve with chocolate sauce.

Happy Baking!
Clara

8 responses to “Just Like Disney!

  1. yum!! the video link isn’t connected i think…great pics as usual!!

  2. Yes, they definitely take me back! Great pics as always!

  3. churros are one of the most typical foods in spain, actually my uncle makes them for a living (along with some other fried foods like ‘chuchos’, which I think you should most definitely try, picture a big big churro with a hole in the middle filled with pastry cream or chocolate)

    anyway, a proper spaniard (not me, not anymore), would kill you for saying they are like doughnuts!, buuuuut yours look so yummy they might just forgive you! great job!

    • Oh ooops, I’m probably just addressing the way that a typical, lazy american would put them!

      Chuchos sounds really interesting! I like to work with a bit more difficult recipes, they keep my attention in check! Thanks for telling me of my little mistake! Haha

  4. i had to find you a picture of the chuchos… i think you should try them

    picture here

    recipe from my friends, in catalan, here

    http://www.lacuinavermella.cat/pastisseria/xuixo/

    i’d be happy to translate the recipe for you! 🙂

  5. I love dipping them in a hot chocolate… The guiltiest pleasure I can imagine, but who cares! 😀

    x

Leave a Reply

