Bananananananananananaanaanana

My dad loves banana nut bread. I used to make it for him all the time, a loaf every other week. I would reserve at least three bananas for myself, let them almost blacken, then make it. He loved it. He then complained that I was making it too often and making him gain weight.

Last week, I discovered a Starbucks bag in his car, and a receipt that stated his Venti Americana Decaf and…banana loaf.

GASP, BLASPHEMY. I made him pay today, I made his fattening banana bread, and he LOVED it.
I’m excellent at payback. Let’s get started.

Toast up some pecans. It took me a little while, because I actually freeze all of the nuts that I use. But it might be faster for anyone who doesn’t. Just make sure that you know this: When you can totally smell the toasting nuts, you’ve probably burned them. Let them cool completely before you chop ’em up. This is important.

Meanwhile, mash up the bananas (three large, and make sure they are VERY ripe) and mix them in with the creamed butter mixture. Another important thing here is the creaming. The butter and the sugar will not seem to want to cream together well for SEVERAL minutes. I’m not lying, it took about five until it went from more of a solid mass to a creamy and fluffy mixture. Just be patient and things will happen. That’s how magic works, I promise.

Add in your eggs one at a time, and mix thoroughly in between each one. After this, gently pour in your buttermilk while your mixture is stirring. Set aside and get your flour.

Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt in a bowl. Now, the recipe says to add in ground nutmeg, but I’ve always kicked it up a notch. I always add in about 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger, 1 teaspoon cinnamon (rounded), and 1 teaspoon of FRESHLY grated nutmeg. It makes all the difference in the world.

Mix in the flour by pouring the batter on top of it and mix using a whisk by the muffin method. It takes about ten seconds of stirring, it should be a bit lumpy when your finished, that’s fine. Now, fold in your pecans gently, and pour into a pan. I poured, oh, a little more than half in. I’ve had an instance where I poured it all in (because the recipe says that it makes one loaf), and it overflowed…big time… Anyway, I use the extra batter and make muffins, about eight.

An instance I’ve chosen to repress :). Top with some extra pecans.

Its a pretty loaf indeed! Allow to cool in the tin for about 15 minutes, invert, and cool completely. If you leave it in the tin for longer, it will get soggy.
Williams Sonoma Banana Nut Bread

Happy Baking!
Clara

2 responses to “Bananananananananananaanaanana

  1. Banana Nut Bread takes me back. My mom used to cook it all the time. Of course she always used ripe bananas.

Leave a Reply

