I Wanted It To Smell Like Christmas…

Don’t judge me, Christmas is the best ever.

And that’s why I made ginger snap cookies. I decided to devise a recipe (I had made one before that was good) that would be nice and chewy, ‘snappy’ in terms of flavor, delicious, and not needing of the ginger sugar that I had used before in a recipe that is on this website but I forgot where it is and I won’t get the link because I am a lazy lazy girl.

Not only that, but I missed ginger snaps.

The process is simple, melt some butter until it is slightly foamy (if it isn’t, that’s fine, but usually it gets foamy when it is just melted.) and add in some dark DARK brown sugar.

This picture doesn’t do the sugar justice in accordance to how dark it really is. Its dark, like…think almost burned umber in color. It smells so good and is so moist, you have no idea. I found mine in a health food/organic store that we have around here, but if you don’t have one or can’t find any, simply combine a cup of granulated sugar with two tablespoons of molasses in a food processor and process until totally combined. There you go. Continue, mix those two together and add in your egg, fresh ginger, then add your molasses.

What’s funny is is that molasses, to me, smells REALLY bad. I always wondered why things that used it tasted so good though! So, about two weeks ago, I dipped a toothpick in a bit, gritted my teeth, and tasted it. Its actually pretty good! Its nice and sweet with a deep and rich taste to it. i can’t put my finger on the word, but just almost…caramelly? No…that’s not the word.

Give me a moment, I’m a little slow.

That’s not a bad thing…

Stir in the flour mixture until combined, then scoop out, and roll in some decorator sugar.

I used this coarse, sparkly sugar that I got at Michaels, so its pretty easy to find. It makes a pretty cookie and nice crunch. I made some with regular sugar, and some with the coarse stuff, the coarse stuff was a lot more sparkly.

You know me, it ain’t over until I got out the bedazzler.

Eleven minutes later and ta-da! Christmas in a cookie! So yummy…

Yummy Ginger Snap Cookies
Ingredients
1/2 c. unsalted butter, melted (one stick)
1 c. Packed Dark Brown Sugar
1 Egg
1/2 c. Molasses
1 T. Fresh Grated Ginger
2 C. All Purpose Flour
1 tsp. Baking Soda
1 1/2 tsp. Ground Cinnamon
1 T. Ground Ginger
1/2 tsp. Ground Cloves
1/2 tsp. Fresh Grated Nutmeg
1/2 tsp. Kosher Salt

Method
-Preheat oven to 350, combine flour, salt, ground cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, ground ginger, and baking soda in a separate bowl, set aside.
1. In a heavy duty mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine butter and sugar with the egg, mix until combined. Add in molasses and fresh ginger and stir.
2. Slowly add in flour ingredients and mix until just combined. Scoop out into 1 inch. balls and roll in coarse sugar, set on prepared cookie sheets 2 inches apart.
3. Bake in preheated oven for 9 minutes, then, using a spatula, lightly tap each cookie to flatten it, then back for 2:30 longer. Remove and allow cookies to cool on sheets 2 minutes, remove to cooling rack to cool completely, they will firm up as they cool.

Happy Baking!
Clara

EDIT: BOLD! THAT’S the word!

Boy, I got really worked up about that.

Leave a Reply

