Five days left?

Five days. Five days left in Senior year of high school. Five days left of being the school girl. Five days left of waking up at 6:20 AM and RUSHING to get in some decent breakfast, take a shower, and rush off to school to not be tardy.

Five days of being a kid. I am growing up, and I can’t believe it.

So, before I officially grow up, we have to walk back in time, to our childhood. Stroll with me, take my hand.

No?

Okay…then I’ll just walk here with my hand awkwardly hanging by my side.

There is something severely comforting to me about chocolate fudge sauce. I could easily take a spoon to it and…

No…I can’t..

Anyway, start off with a mixture of bittersweet and semisweet chocolate. It really ups that ‘chocolatey’ aspect.

There is something genuinely comforting about this sight. The butter cubes decorating the chocolate. Its the epitome of decadence. Butter and CHOCOLATE. Are you kidding me? Yes. Oh, yes. You have to melt these beforehand, because we are basically making a ganache. I thoroughly enjoy making ganache, and I have always found that, to make it more easily, you have to melt the chocolate before hand, it gives it a better chance of making a smoother product.

You then pour your cream mixture (in the recipe below) over the chocolate mixture.

Then walk away. Walk away! WALK. AWAY! Two minutes! I promise! Two! Don’t give me that look, two minutes.

Then whisk it into submission. Now that you have had it sitting all together for two minutes, the heat from the cream has seeped all through the chocolate. This way, you won’t have any cooler bits of chocolate fighting against your want for a nice and smooth fudge sauce. You’re going to get a smooth and yummy and RICH product.

Then, heck, we’re all sinners, dump some more of that delicious stuff on there. You’ll appreciate it.

Chocolate Fudge Sauce
Adapted from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home To Yours
Ingredients

3 Ounces Semisweet Chocolate
3 Ounces Bittersweet Chocolate
4 T. Unsalted Butter, cut into small cubes
1/2 C. Half and Half
1/4 C. Heavy Cream
1 tsp. Vanilla Extract
1/4 tsp. Salt
3 T. Corn Syrup
2 T. Granulated Sugar

Method
1. Combine butter and both chocolates in a microwaveable bowl, and microwave until smooth and evenly melted, about 1 minute. Set aside
2. Combine half and half, heavy cream, salt, corn syrup, and sugar in a heavy-bottomed saucepan and stir to combine. Allow to come to a boil and boil for 1 full minute once it starts. Remove from heat.
3. Pour cream mixture over chocolate mixture and allow to sit, without stirring, for two minutes. Once two minutes are up, whisk mixture until smooth. Add in vanilla and stir.
4. To store, pour into a clean jar or measuring cup and cover. To heat up, gently microwave for 10 seconds (my recommendation, scoop desired amount out and place in a microwaveable dish and heat 10 seconds at a time, until desired consistency is reached.)

Happy Baking!
Clara

Leave a Reply

