That Cookie’s a Monster! That Cookie’s a Monster-er-erer.

Lady Gaga reference. I’m sorry, I’m excited for her concert! Aaaaah!

Oh, there was a reason too, I decided to make some monster cookies today! I found the recipe in the cookbook that was in our homeroom at the school in Dallas that we stayed at for the art festival (I bet there were many, many a grammatical error in this, and this current sentence). So, I ripped the recipe (okay, not really, notepad app on my phone 🙂 ) and worked with it. They are flat, but that’s okay, I think that they are better this way, I don’t know if I would want to bite into these if they were super thick.

The ingredients were simple, except glucose was called for in the recipe. Why do I have glucose in my pantry? I guess its my shopping sprees at Michaels…”Hey! I think I’ll make my own GUMPASTE!” as I purchase gum-tex, glucose, gumpaste mix…and premade gumpaste. I get myself so confused. Anyway, glucose is what you would call an inverted sugar, or one that will not recrystallize. It is very viscous and thick, more thick than honey, and it gives cookies (if you use it in them) a fresher consistency. What I mean is, they probably won’t get stale very easily, as the sugar grabs moisture from the air and keeps it in the cookie, letting it stay soft and not crumbly. Good good good.

They are fun to mix by hand, you get a good ab workout out of it. Oh! And while I detest peanut butter, they smelled SO GOOD. Good night. Good night and good luck.


Use these…use them well. See that center M&M that’s saying hello? See what kind it says under the two letters? Yes. Use these, use a cup of them.

All in all, very simple, and they smell wonderful. They taste good too :).

Oh, and they’re purty :]. Have fun!

Monster Cookies
Ingredients
1 Stick Unsalted Butter
1 1/2 C. Peanut Butter (smooth or chunky)
1 C. plus 2 T. Packed Brown Sugar
1 C. Granulated Sugar
1 T. Vanilla Extract
2 tsp. Baking Soda
1/2 tsp. Salt
1 C. Dark Chocolate M&Ms
5 C. Quick-Cooking Oats (not instant, you can use Old Fashioned Rolled Oats too, but I made an oopsie at the store)
3 Eggs
3/4 tsp. glucose (or corn syrup or honey)

Method
-Preheat oven to 350 and line pans with parchment
1. Mix peanut butter, glucose and butter together until well blended, then stir in both sugars. Add eggs, one at a time, and mix together with vanilla extract and salt.
2. Pour in oats and fold in, and follow with M&Ms, fold until well combined.
3. Using a 1/4 C. measure, scoop out dough and roll into balls with your hands (or use a disher, about #20 or #24). Space cookies 2 in. apart and bake for 12-14 minutes, or until tops and edges start to brown. Allow to cool on pans for 2-4 minutes and remove to rack to cool completely.

Happy Baking!
Clara

4 responses to “That Cookie’s a Monster! That Cookie’s a Monster-er-erer.

  1. I love monster cookies and these look uber yummy!

  2. Ha! I was just listening to that song when I clicked onto your site!

Leave a Reply

