Happy Easter!

Happy Easter, everyone! I hope you guys had a wonderful day finding Easter eggs and stuffing yourself with candy!

Me? I got a sunburn while golfing with my dad. Then finished two paintings for art! I’ll post pictures of them soon.

Oh! And made some marshmallow peeps and some Easter egg-esque slice and bake cookies! Want to learn how to make them? Here!

Make the sugar cookie dough (its a simple recipe, I can’t believe I actually got them to taste like Pillsbury slice and bake cookies. Whodathunk?) And weigh it, then separate it into three different dough balls.

Choose your colors! Me, I chose Pink, Kelly Green, and Lemon Yellow Wilton gel food colors, I wouldn’t recommend liquid food colors; they tend to throw off the dry:wet ratio. Oh…and they change your hands color a lot more easily, since we are mixing these by hand.

Add the color with a toothpick. Fold it in with your hands until the color is relatively even. Mine ended up a bit marbled, but when you roll out the dough, the color gets more evenly distributed:

See? Now, divide each one in half and roll it out to, oh, about 1/4″ thickness, make sure they are long rectangles that are around 3 1/2″-4″ wide, do that with all of the colors and stack them evenly. They won’t look too pretty as you stack them but trust me. Now, cut the dough in half and stack the halves together and on top of each other. Gently roll the two until the become a cylindrical log, wrap them up in parchment and refrigerate.

Some time later, cut and bake! Then enjoy!

The dough is okay, its really good for slice and bake, the almond flavoring is just right. I like to tweak, and that was something I added in. I found this recipe somewhere…I can’t find where, I’ve known of it for a little while. Once I find the original, I’ll post it.

Slice and Bake Sugar Cookies
Ingredients
3 C. All Purpose Flour
1 tsp. Baking Powder
1/4 tsp. Salt
2 Sticks Butter
1 C. Sugar
1 Egg
2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
1/4 tsp. Almond Extract

Method
1. Mix butter and sugar on high until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes. Add in egg and mix well, followed by both extracts
2. Combine flour, baking soda, and salt in a separate bowl and slowly add to mixture until it pulls away from the bowl and is just combined.
3. Roll into a cylindar shape about 8″ long and 2″ thick (there should be two logs) and wrap wtih parchment. Refrigerate 2 hours or until firm.
4. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
5. Cut dough logs into 1/2″ thick slices and arrange 1″ apart on baking sheet, bake for 13-14 minutes. Remove from oven and cool on trays for 2 minutes, remove and cool completely. Enjoy!

Want to color your dough? Improvise! If you want to make them like mine, follow the instructions above.

Happy Baking (and Easter!)
Clara

2 responses to “Happy Easter!

  1. I love those eggs! Very neat technique!

Leave a Reply

