So I Got Creative…

I have to make mention that I will not be able to post any recipes and whatnot for the next few days. I am headed out with my dad to NYC in the morning and will be there until Monday! Eee! I have NEVER been there before! Heck, I haven’t even been that for North! I’m so excited! I can’t wait to buy knockoff designer labels for CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP! Oh, and the various bakeries, and Broadway! We are going to see The Lion King (I’ve seen it before on Tour, but I HAVE to see it again) and Wicked (read the book! Can’t wait!!) I’ll post pictures because my camera is making the journey with me!

With two cups of dulce de leche in the fridge, threatening deliciousness and not-so-delicious pounds, I had to make something that could disappear easily and space out the fattening deliciousness in such a way that I am not feeling guilty constantly. So, I opted to make them into sugar-coated cookies.

Wait…that defeats the purpose of non-guilt…oops.

These are sweet, chewy, and really good. I got the idea while searching for recipes that use dulce de leche, and only found the Argentinean alfejor (dulce de leche sandwiched between two buttery cookies) though this looked good, my dulce de leche was too liquid for this. So, after much failed searching, I decided to make my own recipe.

This recipe includes no butter, because I figured that the dulce de leche provided plenty of moisture to the cookie. Plus, it was an experiment.

Its very easy to do, but one that I would definitely mix by hand on, the dough is very sturdy, also, a lot of dough is yielded. I got about 50 cookies from the recipe.

The cookie is dense and yummy. When it first comes out of the oven, it feels slightly firm, and you will question its doneness because it doesn’t darken. Please note that they will get firmer as they cool, they’ve been baking long enough.

Don’t add vanilla, there is a ton of vanilla in the dulce de leche! Enjoy!

Dulce De Leche Cookies
Ingredients
1 C. Homemade (or premade) Dulce De Leche
3 Large Eggs
1 1/2 C. Brown Sugar
1/2 C. Granulated Sugar (plus extra for rolling)
1 tsp. Baking Powder
1/4 tsp. Salt
4 C. All Purpose Flour (you heard me…hee hee)

Method
->Preheat oven to 350. Mix together salt, flour, and baking powder and set aside.
1. In a large bowl, or in a heavy duty mixer, whisk together the dulce de leche, eggs, and both sugars until well combined.
2. Gradually add in flour mixture, using your hands if it gets hard to incorporate.
3. Roll dough into 1 1/2″ balls and roll in sugar. Bake in preheated oven for 12 minutes.
4. This is the tough part. Remove pan from oven and, using either a metal spatula (or, like me, your hand) lightly flatten each cookie until the edges crack. Do not flatten all the way.
5. Return cookies to oven for 8 more minutes. The edges will not darken, but the cookie will give slightly when pressed, remove from pans and cool on a cooling rack.

Happy Baking!
Clara

2 responses to “So I Got Creative…

  1. These look great! I just posted a Dulce de Leche recipe that you should check out for making these… I’ve alway only made dulce de leche sandwich style cookies, but these look so tasty! Can’t wait to try them out!

    Stop by http://www.thenakedbaker.wordpress.com to see my dulce de leche sauce recipe

    Cute blog by the way šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

