Where Have YOU Been, Little Lady??

THIS. IS. WHERE!

Its my BIRTHDAY-ON-SATURDAY-BUT-TODAY-IS-MY-“BIRTHDAY”! This cake preoccupied my week, and I’m glad it did. I started it two days ago by making the Marshmallow Fondant (recipe below) and preparing a 4″ cake pan’s worth of cake and a 7″ cake pan’s worth (both the red velvet that I made earlier this week) frosted with Cream Cheese Frosting (Staple Recipes). Surprisingly, I didn’t have to make two batches of the cake, it was the perfect size, I simply adjusted the time. Oh, the fondant was SO. GOOD. First, I started with the fondant two days ago:

Melt your marshmallows in a heat-proof bowl (I have a silicone bowl that I LOVE) with some water. Then, color the mixture BEFORE you add in the sugar, this makes the color uniform.

Then, mix in your powdered sugar until you can’t really mix it anymore with the spatula. Then turn out the mixture onto your sugar’d counter (and spread some shortening on it periodically to prevent sticking/drying out) and knead in the powdered sugar until all is absorbed and there is none left on the counter. This took a long time and was hard, but I told myself that I was getting an ab workout out of it, and so I felt good about myself. Spread the ball with shortening, wrap with plastic wrap, and allow to sit at room temperature for a day. Then the next day (or whenever you need it), you roll it out to 1/8″ thick.

Now for the cake.

Prepare your cake as usual (I used different cake pans and watched it CLOSELY. Look how close that came to overflowing! But it didn’t, this made me feel accomplished), cool it in the pans for 15 minutes, then turn out and cool completely. I went to school for the rest of the day, so that was a good way of ‘cooling completely’. Am I right? Huh? Huh? No..

I’m sorry…

Anyway..

Level and ice your cakes. Though the cooked frosting was super good, nothing quite beats the taste of cream cheese frosting. It makes my life complete. I refrigerated them (this includes the fondant, EEK. No harm done though!) because I’m finicky about cream cheese frosting and letting it sit out. All was fine and good though. Just like me. Fine and good.

I’ll shut up again…

Chill them for a bit to let the icing firm up. I should have done this, but I was impatient and didn’t, the corners might have been sharper if I did, but it’s fine. Roll out the fondant and get the larger tier of the cake.

Then gently lay it over and smooth all of the wrinkles out. This was easier with the bottom tier rather than the upper tier, I had to redo that one…

Cut it with a pizza wheel…

And set aside! Repeat with the upper tier, then forget to take a picture of you taking that completed upper tier, picking it up with a cakelift/large dough cutter, then GENTLY setting it on top of the upper tier. Then ALSO forget to take pictures of you rolling out some chocolate fondant (purchased this, it was really good!), cutting it into strips and circles, brushing the backs with a little water, and adhering them to the cake.

Not bad for someone who hasn’t worked with fondant before, and their only knowledge is watching too many episodes of Ace of Cakes!


(Did you know I like pink and brown? I wasn’t sure if you noticed. It’s not an obvious fact.)

You could say it went well! Dress it up with some sparkly, tall, and DRAMATIC candles.

Or, if you aren’t me, don’t. But I’m me, and so I did. Ha. I’m amazing.

You would think that after all of that effort, I would be dreading cutting into the cake…It hurt a little bit.

But then I ate it in the dim lighting of the restaurant with my friends. It made it all better. The fondant is SO GOOD!!

This has been a good pseudo-birthday…

I love life. Expect posting to be back to normal tomorrow. I’m going to roll into bed now. So full…

Marshmallow Fondant
Ingredients
1 package (16 ounces) white mini marshmallows (use a good quality brand)
2-5 tablespoons water
2 pounds (about 8 cups) sifted confectioners’ sugar
1/2 cup solid vegetable shortening

Method
To make marshmallow fondant, place marshmallows and 2 tablespoons of water in a microwave-safe bowl. Microwave 30 seconds on high; stir until mixed well. Continue microwaving 30 seconds more; stir again. Continue until melted (about 2 1/2 minutes).

Place 3/4 of the confectioners’ sugar on top of the melted marshmallow mixture. Fold sugar into marshmallow mixture. Flavoring can be added at this point if desired. Place solid vegetable shortening in easily accessed bowl so you can reach into it with fingers as you are working. Grease hands and counter GENEROUSLY; turn marshmallow mixture onto counter. Start kneading like you would dough. Continue kneading, adding additional confectioners’ sugar and re-greasing hands and counter so the fondant doesn’t stick. If the marshmallow fondant is tearing easily, it is too dry; add water (about 1/2 tablespoon at a time) kneading until fondant forms a firm, smooth elastic ball that will stretch without tearing, about 8 minutes.

It’s best to allow Marshmallow Fondant to sit, double-wrapped, overnight. Prepare the fondant for storing by coating with a thin layer of solid vegetable shortening, wrap in plastic wrap and then place in resealable bag. Squeeze out as much air as possible. Marshmallow Fondant will keep well in refrigerator for several weeks.

Happy Baking!
Clara

One response to “Where Have YOU Been, Little Lady??

  1. Well, first of all, happy birthday lady!

    and then… WOOOOOW… i’m so excited! now i know how to make fondant at homee!!! yaaaaay!!!

    the cake looks SUPER cute! and i bet it tasted even better!

Leave a Reply

