I’m SUPER Quick…Bread!

Not much of a long post today, its super late and I must sleep.

Oh, and I have to write a seven page paper by Sunday night…EW.

So I made some zucchini bread by utilizing some yummy flavors that I like in other quickbreads into this one. Now, I had never really tried zucchini bread before, and so I know I was running a risk here. But, that’s just the way I am. Risk is my middle name.

Actually, its Margaret.

I’m really owning up to these ‘old-fashioned’ names now, aren’t I? Remember “Christmas Story”? Remember the pink nightmare? Guess who gave that kid the bunny suit.

Aunt Clara.

It took me a little while to bake, but the bread got a very nice high ‘crown’ on it that was lovely and crisp when fresh out of the oven. The air was redolent with the smell of cinnamon and deliciousness. I don’t normally eat quickbreads because they are so gosh darned filled with all that good stuff known as sugar and oil and other stuff, but I had to take one for the team.

I’m glad I did. I can tell you, when you first smell it, you can smell the zucchini. When I first smelled it, I was like “Oh no..” but then after a bit of cooling, you take a bite, and its delightfully sweet with a cinnamon aftertaste. Not bad at all! Nice and moist as well!


(Fresh nutmeg is really key here.)

Zucchini Bread Makes 1 Loaf
Ingredients
1 3/4 C. All-Purpose Flour
1/2 tsp. Fresh Nutmeg
1 tsp. Ground Cinnamon
1 tsp. Baking Powder
1/2 tsp. Salt
1 C. Shredded Zucchini
2 Eggs
1 1/2 C. Sugar
1/2 C. Vegetable Oil
1/3 C. Buttermilk (or half 2% milk and half white vinegar, allow to sit until the milk separates a bit)
3/4 C. Chopped Walnuts

Method
->Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a 9″x5″ loaf pan with parchment paper with a 2″ overhang, lightly spray with cooking spray before putting the paper in.
1. Whisk together flour, nutmeg, cinnamon, salt, and baking powder in a separate bowl and set aside.
2. In a medium bowl, whisk buttermilk, eggs, and oil until smooth. Whisk in sugar until combined, then stir in zucchini. Pour flour mixture over the wet mixture and FOLD until just combined, if the mixture is slightly lumpy, then that is perfect. Lightly fold in walnuts.
3. Transfer to the prepared pan and bake in preheated oven for 65-75 minutes, or until golden and lightly crisp on top and a toothpick inserted into a crack (that should form on top) comes out clean with moist crumbs. Allow to cool in pan for 15 minutes, depan, and cool to room temperature (about 2 hours). Cut and enjoy. Refridgerate, wrapped, for up to 1 week.

->When wrapped up tightly, the bread is a great product to be frozen. Simply transfer to a refrigerator to thaw overnight.
->My dad really likes to toast this stuff. :]

Happy Baking!
Clara

PS: I feel like my oven is a bit off, so start checking on the bread after 45 minutes.

3 responses to “I’m SUPER Quick…Bread!

  1. hahahahaha, you did make the zucchini bread! well, that’s wonderful because i wanted to make it this weekend and i kept finding recipes for 2 loaves… and i’m fine with one, really, i don’t need to indulge myself with 2 of them…

    i’ll make this tom morning and let you know how it comes out!

  2. The bread looks really good, but I had to let you know my nine-year-old’s name: Clara Margaret!

Leave a Reply

