Ding Dong the Wicked Witch Is Dead!

I’ve challenged the Hostess.

But I followed Martha’s recipe. But added my own twist.

I like to twist.

Sorry. I’ll get back on subject.

Anyway, in Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes, there is a recipe for marshallow-filled cupcakes (i.e. Ding Dongs) I simply had to partake! Oh, and might I add…these are yummy. I mean…yummy. Watch out, you might have to buy a new pair of jeans.

You have been warned.

The ingredients were fairly simple. In fact, this would have been a cookie batter if there was less yogurt involved, so I was prepared. In the book, however, it calls for sour cream. But, you see, we don’t indulge in sour cream in our house of “Hey, I’m trying to diet, stop cooking; by the way, when are you making more ice cream?”, but we do eat yogurt. Well…I do. I like it very much. Too much. Only light and flavored though…I can’t handle the plain stuff, so I use it in place of sour cream in recipes. I’ll shut up now.

After preheating the oven, get out your muffin tins and spray them, then dust them with cocoa powder. I think that this insures them to be less soggy, and using the spray is a bit lighter than using butter.

But you can use butter. I won’t mind. I use it too.

Make your batter, I only included one tiny picture of some of the process.

I added an egg.

Hey. It was a cool picture, and I’ve posted so many pictures of creaming the butter and sugar on this site that I can just type “Cre-” and you would instantly know what I was talking about. Anyway, plunk it into your tins using a #24 ice cream disher, its the perfect size for these.

The batter is pretty thick, so it retains its shape when in the pan; so I used my little offset spatula and just spread it out a little bit. It comforts me a bit, I don’t want a ball-shaped cupcake. I want a cupcake-shaped cupcake. Just sayin’.

When they are out of the oven, they look like this. I almost thought they were overdone, but it was almost like they had a little ‘shell’ on the outside, because the inside was moist and cakey; not that this mattered or anything, because it got scooped out. The recipe said to discard the crumbs. Um, no. These top ice cream.

This was my favorite part though; scooping. I used my teaspoon measure, it was the right size. First, I flipped the cupcake over and ‘cut’ a circle in the bottom. Basically, I ‘scored’ it, so that I wouldn’t rip the cupcake in half. Then, I cut into the cupcake, twisted the spoon gently, and pulled up. Pop! out it came! It was so simple! Cute too! I repeated with the rest, reserving the bottom ‘stumps’ to cork the bottoms once they were filled.

I made the marshmallow creme filling using a homemade marshmallow fluff (recipe is located in ‘Staple Recipes’) and filled them, then corked them closed. Once these were done, the recipe said to top with the remaining filling, but then I was like “Wait, no.” so I deviated a bit and made a simple ganache. I melted 5 oz. of 60% chocolate chips, then heated some heavy cream and added it in. I waited a moment or two for it to settle a bit, then stirred it smooth.

Then, I took the cupcakes, one by one, and dipped the tops in. It was so perfect! The ganache set up in about 20-25 minutes perfectly. But that wasn’t just it, I made a creamy royal icing to top that as well. These taste like the real deal, guys.

Creamy Royal Icing
Makes about 2 cups

Ingredients
2 C. Powdered Sugar
5 T. Powdered Egg Whites (Meringue Powder)
1 T. Vanilla Extract (you can add more…I never measure Vanilla)
Scant 1/4 C. Heavy Whipping Cream

Method
1. In the bowl of a heavy-duty mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, whisk together powdered sugar and egg whites.
2. Add in the vanilla and cream and whisk until smooth and slightly thickened, about 7 minutes on high speed.
3. Add more powdered sugar for a thicker consistency. Add more heavy whipping cream for a thinner consistency.
->Recommended: This frosting hardens quickly, so use it immediately, but if you can’t, you can place it in a bowl and press plastic wrap over the top and chill. When you want to use it, remove the plastic and stir around to smooth out the texture again.

And, finally:

Cream-Filled Chocolate Cupcakes
Ingredients
For the Cupcakes
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature, plus more for muffin tins
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, plus more for muffin tins
2 cups all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups sugar
3 large eggs, room temperature
1 cup sour cream, room temperature (I used plain yogurt)

For the Filling
1 1/2 cups marshmallow creme (7.5-ounce jar) (Recipe for homemade in ‘Staple Recipes’)
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature

You might want to make another half-batch of frosting, I ran out of the first batch. So, one-and-a-half batches was the perfect amount

Method
Preheat oven to 350. Butter two 6-cup (each with a 1-cup capacity) jumbo muffin pans; dust with cocoa powder to coat, tapping out excess. In a medium bowl, whisk together cocoa, flour, baking powder, soda, and salt.
Using an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar until light. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. On low speed, add half the flour mixture, followed by sour cream, ending with remaining flour mixture; mix just until incorporated (do not overmix).
Divide batter among prepared muffin cups. Bake until a toothpick inserted in center of a cupcake comes out clean, 25 to 30 minutes, rotating pans halfway through baking. Cool in pans, 5 minutes; remove cupcakes and cool, right side up, on a wire rack.
Meanwhile, prepare filling: In a medium bowl, whisk marshmallow creme and butter until smooth. Chill until slightly firm, 15 to 30 minutes. Transfer mixture to a heavy-duty resealable plastic bag, and seal; cut off one corner of the bag to make a 1/8-inch opening.
Using a small melon baller, scoop out center of each cupcake from the bottom, and reserve (you will use this to plug cupcake after filling). Hollow out each cupcake a bit more, discarding crumbs. Insert tip of plastic bag into each cavity, and squeeze to fill; replace plugs. Using remaining filling in plastic bag, decorate top of cupcakes.

MY ADDITION
-Make a semi-sweet chocolate ganache using 5 oz. chocolate melted with 5 oz. heavy cream, dip the top of the cupcakes in the ganache.
-Fit a pastry bag with a small plain tip (or snip off the end) and fill with the Creamy Royal Icing, pipe circles on top of the set ganache. Allow to set up.

Happy Baking!
Clara

4 responses to “Ding Dong the Wicked Witch Is Dead!

  1. good god, those look super yummy… i have to make those!!! i have horrible chocolate cravings, i’m sure it’s the weather…
    ok, i need to stop. my roommates insist they’re gonna take me to ‘bakers anonymous’… they are right… i’ll bookmark this one and wait… until next week, maybe. lol

    they look very cute too, they are the perfect cupcake to bring to a party!

  2. Haha “Hey, I’m trying to diet, stop cooking; by the way, when are you making more ice cream?” I totally know what you mean, my family (and myself) are constantly on a diet, but they dont look away when I bake something (:
    I’m Amalia btw, you dont know me but I love your blog! and those cupcakes look super YUM! but also incredibly fun to make! I need to try those…

Leave a Reply

