I Found the Funkiest Fruit Today!

And so I made a dessert out of it! Can you tell I’ve been having a love affair with my ice cream maker? Quote Elf: “I’M IN LOVE I’M IN LOVE AND I DON’T CARE WHO KNOWS IT!”

Okay…maybe I shouldn’t have quoted Elf…

QUICKLY, MOVING ON.

This is a Pomalo! I went to the grocery store looking for tangelos (because they are awesome, and everyone knows that) and all of a sudden, I see this BRIGHT greenish-yellow fruit that is LITERALLY the size of my HEAD in with the grapefruit. I walk over there and a little sign proclaims “Celebrate the Year of the Tiger! Pomalo Fruit” Huh! I sniffed it, and it smelled a lot like grapefruit. I like grapefruit, so I figured I would make a grapefruit sherbet. I came home with the two pomalos that I bought and cut them open and took a segment out (huge, by the way) and ate it. It tastes a lot like grapefruit, but the bitterness is totally gone! It’s delicious!

Combined, both fruits yielded two cups of juice. I ran them through my juicer to get the stuff out, however, no juice came out of the spout! What’s up with that! So I juiced them both and just poured it in from the reservoir, pulp and all, then strained it through a fine mesh strainer. When I cleaned my juicer later, however, I discovered that I had accidentally closed the spout. D’oh!

I combined it with some lemon zest and sugar and blitzed it in my food processor, then whisked in some milk and chilled it.

Then I did a little jig as I waited.

After freezing, you taste it and you find it…different. Its kind of sour and kind of sweet, it hits you all at once and quite frankly, at first, you don’t like it. But then you take another bite and you’re like “DANG”.

At least, that’s what I did…

Like the Elf quote…I shouldn’t have told you that.

Pomalo Sherbet
Adapted from Alton Brown’s Orange Sherbet
Ingredients
8 oz. Granulated Sugar
2 C. Fresh Pomalo Juice (around two fruits, microwave the pomalos for 10 seconds on high to ensure more juice to come)
1 1/2 T. Fresh Lemon Juice
1 T. Vanilla Extract
1 1/2 T. Finely Grated Lemon Zest
1 1/2 C. Very Cold Milk

Method
In the bowl of a food processor combine all of the ingredients except the milk and process until the sugar is dissolved, approximately 1 minute. Transfer the mixture to a mixing bowl and whisk in the milk. Cover the bowl and place in the refrigerator until the mixture reaches 40 degrees F or below, approximately 1 hour.

Pour the mixture into an ice cream maker and process until it is the consistency of soft serve ice cream. You may serve now or transfer to a lidded container and place in freezer until firm, approximately 3 hours.

Happy Baking!
Clara

2 responses to “I Found the Funkiest Fruit Today!

  1. it’s funny! i live in the US but I’m originally from spain and we have pomelos all the time… my mum is in love with them! it’s one of those fruits that doesn’t usually cross the ocean… like our melons, that are nothing like the melons you’ve got here…

    btw, i was checking your blog for recipes and my roommate saw your drawings and he made me stop to stare at them for a while… he’s in love with them… and they remind me of edgar allan poe’s stories… they are kind of dark… which i love…

    anyhow, have a great day!

    • Goodness, all I have to say is why didn’t I know about these amazing things? They are so good!

      And thank you! For some reason, I’m very interested in everything macabre (without being a goth! Haha)

Leave a Reply

