I Scream You Scream

I finished my SCAD portfolio! As a reward to myself, I bought myself an ice cream maker that attaches to my mixer!

It’s the new love of my life. I store it in my freezer, so that I may use it on a whim. I like to use things on a whim.

I like to separate eggs, its one of my little joys in life. That and any opportunities to make a custard. So that means I like to temper the yolks. That’s why me and ice cream should have a party for a long time. For the rest of my life.

I’m listening to Black Eyed Peas music right now, can’t you tell?

Anyway, it was a lot of fun to use, and I will definitely love to use it again…next week.

As for the ice cream recipe, its awesome! It utilized the power of the Madagascar Vanilla Bean, and sooooo good! Its a light ice cream, using milk instead of cream. Also, it freezes wonderfully and so smooth, top it with homemade caramel sauce or chcoolate sauce! Or, if you’re like me, just love it for what it is believed to be: Plain and “boring”. Boring, in this case, meaning awesome.

(NOTICE: If you’re iffy about raw eggs, I’d either avoid homemade ice cream or use pasteurized or use super duper fresh. I’m pretty sure the eggs cooked in this, but I used pasteurized anyway :] )

Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream
Ingredients
1 1/2 teaspoons unflavored gelatin
1 tablespoon water
3 cups low-fat milk, divided
3 large egg yolks
1 14-ounce can nonfat sweetened condensed milk
1 vanilla bean

Method
Sprinkle gelatin over water in a small bowl; let stand, stirring once or twice, while you make the base for the ice cream.
Pour 1 1/2 cups milk into a large saucepan. Cut vanilla bean in half lengthwise; scrape the seeds into the milk and add the pod.
Heat the milk mixture over medium heat until steaming. Whisk egg yolks and condensed milk in a medium bowl. Gradually pour in the hot milk, whisking until blended. Return the mixture to the pan and cook over medium heat, stirring with a wooden spoon, until the back of the spoon is lightly coated, 3 to 5 minutes. Do not bring to a boil or the custard will curdle.
Strain the custard through a fine-mesh sieve into a clean large bowl. Add the softened gelatin and whisk until melted. Whisk in the remaining 1 1/2 cups milk. Cover and refrigerate until chilled, at least 2 hours (It took three and a half for me, this is a super important step! It ensures a smoother texture!).
Whisk the ice cream mixture and pour into the canister of an ice cream maker. Freeze according to manufacturer’s directions. If necessary, place the ice cream in the freezer to firm up before serving

Happy Baking, and Ice Cream Making!
Clara

4 responses to “I Scream You Scream

  1. so jealous! i lurve vanilla ice cream! even with the snow falling outside i could totally go for a few scoops of ice cream

  2. Pingback: Cookie Dough Ice Cream « Clara Bakes

  3. Pingback: Pistachio Ice Cream « Clara Bakes

Leave a Reply

