I’m On Break, Yet I’m So Busy!

Yesterday, I made two things: Strawberry Marshmallows and Cheddar Jalepeno Bread.

Well, the marshmallows didn’t turn out well. Soggy in fact, the recipe had WAAAAY too much water in it. I’ll try again tomorrow maybe. So I went to the bread.

I added a cup LESS of flour than was needed. What’s wrong with me? Ack! I have another (more correct) dough rising as we speak, that one’s going up tomorrow.

So, today, I made that dough, some espresso marshmallows (gooey still…though not soggy. Thank goodness), and guacamole! Tip on finding perfect avocados. The ones with the “NOW RIPE!” sticker are the ones I avoid. Why? You don’t know how long those stickers have been on there, an avocado can’t be perfectly ripe forever and ever! One that gives as soon as you touch it is too ripe. I go for ones that are slightly firm with a little tiny give in them, and also if you pick out the stem on the top of the fruit and look into the flesh from the top, it should be a nice, creamy green. Perfect avocado!

Guacamole
Ingredients
3 Ripe Hass Avocados
1 lime’s or lemon’s worth of juice
1/2 tsp. ground cumin
1/2 tsp. kosher salt
1/2 tsp. fresh ground pepper
2 small tomatoes, diced
1/4 finely chopped onion (you can add more if you want, don’t go overboard though!)
1 clove minced garlic (fresh is best!)
2 T. finely chopped cilantro

Method
-In a food processor, puree 2 avocados until smooth. Put in last avocado and pulse until slightly chunky. Transfer to a mixing bowl and stir in lemon juice, onion, garlic, tomatoes, cilantro, and seasonings. Enjoy!

Super easy, for sure!

Happy Baking!
Clara

Leave a Reply

