Strawberry Fields Forever!

Valentine’s Day is coming! Tra-la! Tra-la! So, for the next to days, I will be devoted to pink.

I will not try to be nauseatingly pink, but pleasantly so! Did you know that pink used to be my LEAST favorite color? LEAST. If my mother so much as gave me a pink shirt to put on when I was in first grade, I wouldn’t BUDGE from my room until that shirt was REMOVED and replaced with blue, white, red, or purple. Goth child, am I right? Anyway, I was pretty sad.

Also, recently, I’ve fallen in love with strawberries. They are tangy, then you get that sucker punch of sweetness. So pretty also! You can make a quick puree of them for frosting by putting them in your food processor with a few tablespoons of sugar and pulsing until done. Yum! That’s what I did for these cupcakes, I made 1/4 of the recipe of cupcakes, and I wasn’t really in the mood to whip out so much butter to make Swiss Meringue Buttercream. So I made some Wilton Buttercream frosting (the recipe and link to which is in the “Staple Recipes” catagory) and substituted the milk with the puree, and added a tiny bit more. I made half of the recipe for that, so I added about 1/8 C. of puree to that. Just the right consistency!

They sure were pretty! However, they were hard to bake, the strawberries were pretty wet in the batter (though that’s not a bad thing, it was just hard to see if they were done all the way or not). My problem though? They were AWFULLY sweet, it might have been the buttercream (the Wilton recipe is sweet, a swiss meringue would be better, the richness would counteract the sweetness. I ended up taking off the majority of the frosting, leaving a very thin sheet, that worked better), but I dunno. I just found them sweet; to the point where it was filling. Weird, right? Maybe that’s me. I’m dieting and haven’t been eating too many ‘sweet’ things. However, there certainly was strawberry flavor in there, and that was nice. They didn’t rise much either. Then again, I made 1/4 of the recipe, I screwed something up somewhere. Oh well.

I’m not saying don’t make these: please do, this is a high-rating recipe, my math didn’t make them as well as they could have been.

My dog is snoring in the corner, excuse me as I now giggle.

*giggle*

Overall, nice, but sweet. I dunno, I might be weird. I am known to be weird. For example, the 45 minute laughing fit that I had for no reason in AP Studio Art today. Tears, laughter, embarrassment, and Elmo impressions (don’t ask) partook. It was a long day, bear with me.

Pink enough for you?

Strawberry Cupcakes
Ingredients
2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup cake flour (not self-rising)
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
8 ounces (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
2 1/4 cups sugar
3 large eggs plus 1 large egg white
1 cup whole milk
1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 cups finely chopped strawberries, plus small strawberries for garnish

Method
Make cupcakes as directed in Basic Cupcake How-To, using milk and vanilla for wet ingredients. Stir chopped strawberries into batter. Once cupcakes are cool, frost tops with strawberry buttercream. Frosted cupcakes will keep, covered and refrigerated, for up to 2 days. Top with a strawberry just before serving.

Happy Baking!
Clara

Leave a Reply

