When Life Gives You Lemons…

You say, “Gee, thanks, Mister!”

Short post today, on account that I am actually in Study Hall (teehee, rebellious me).

You know, I’ve heard of it, and seen it in come cookbooks that I have. But goodness, it looked intimidating at first glance, then you see the recipe; its kind of life a chiffon cake (which I love making and will have to make some posts in the future), except its lighter, and the part with the egg whites separates to become a cakey top and a lemon curd-like bottom. Yum!

Overall, I think the cake was good, it could have been a little bit more lemony. But that’s my taste. I have my dad’s palate, the one that says “This lemon bar doesn’t make me pucker, fix it.” So, next time I make this, I will add more lemon and zest to the batter. It doesn’t need to be totally lip-squeezing or total-face-unattractive-makeoverful, but just more lemon flavor would be good. It was good from the fridge the next day. So my rating is a 9/10. It could be more lemony. Oh, and I think a water bath would suffice here, I opened the oven and there was the grand canyon going on in my lemon pudding cake. Not pretty.


I got a pretty picture or two out of it though.

Lemon Pudding Cake
Ingredients
– 3/4 cup sugar (or less if you like it less sweet)
– 1/4 cup cake flour
– pinch salt
– 3 eggs, separated
– 1 cup milk
– 1 tbl grated lemon zest
– 1/4 cup lemon juice

Method
1. grease 9×9 inch baking pan and preheat oven to 325 degrees.
2. combine sugar, flour and salt in bowl.
3. beat egg yolks, milk, lemon zest and lemon juice in a bowl. pour this mixture into flour mixture and mix together.
4. beat egg whites with electric beater untill stiff peaks form. fold this mixture into the egg yolk mixture.
5. pour batter into pan and bake about 35 minutres. the top should be golden brown but the bottom will still be soft. let cool. you can eat this cake warm but i like to cool it completely in the fridge and eat it cold with a dollop of whipped cream. yum!

Happy Baking!
Clara

2 responses to “When Life Gives You Lemons…

  1. Hooray! You made it! I think I was on my way to The Bahamas when you posted this so I missed it. I’m surprised it wasn’t lemony enough with the 1 tablespoons of zest and the 1/4 cup lemon juice, but I’ll take that into consideration as I make it. I’m pretty sure we’d like it cold too.

    • It was very good cold, and I think that after it chilled thoroughly, it tasted better. I didn’t like the recommendation of serving it ‘warm’ that I had seen on other recipes, you couldn’t really taste it! I think I might replace some of the milk for more lemon juice next time I make it. Its really good nonetheless! I just wanted to have that classic bite that lemon gives off, you know?

Leave a Reply

