Let’s Go Saints!

It’s Super Bowl Sunday! And you know what that means! It’s Eat-Fattening-Food-Despite-It-Not-Being-the-Holidays-Though-it’s-Still-A-Holiday-Technically-So-Let’s-Use-Mayonnaise Day!

I’m rooting for the Saints. I think that New Orleans deserves this. I do. The Colts can handle it just fine.

Anyway, today, I decided to make French Onion Dip! In my little youngin’ times, this was a favorite of mine and my family. So, I looked up recipes and found this one by Guy Fieri. He kinda annoys me, and I was like ‘well, goodness, if this one is a high scoring one, it must be “off the hook”‘.

I love Food Network.

So, I went to the store and picked up some onions, shallots, light mayo (We’re dieting! I won’t tell!), yogurt (there was no sour cream left! I went earlier today. Big mistake. Yogurt and sour cream, thankfully, can be used interchangeably) and left. First I chopped up the onions (one actually was enough, these buddies are huge!) and the shallots. Then, I left the room for fifteen minutes with tears streaming down my face.
Sticks and stones may break my bones, and onions make me cry.
I then melted the butter with the oil and dumped in the onions to sauté.

I stirred on them every once and a while to get them to caramelize.

Did I mention that these were smelling like an old greasy spoon onion burger joint? When I ate burgers (I stopped eating beef, love cows!) I got onion burgers. This just made me think of awesomeland. I clicked my heels and stirred some more and was greeted with magic.

I believe! Holy COW these smelled good. This is what Guy Fieri would call “Flavortown” and quite franky, I would agree. I then dumped in the shallots (these things were EVIL to my eyes!)

I cooked them for about ten more minutes and then they were done.

I set them aside and cooled them down.

I got all of my other ingredients and stirred them all together while the onions were cooling. I used light mayo (in place of regular) and plain nonfat yogurt (in place of the sour cream) I then folded the cooled onions in and let them chill and party for a few hours in the fridge.

Yum. Try this. Its good.
CALORIES IN FULL FAT RECIPE (mayonnaise and sour cream): 54 calories per Tbs
CALORIES IN MODIFIED RECIPE (lofat mayo and nonfat yogurt): 22 calories per Tbs
CALORIES SAVED: 32 calories per Tbs.

French Onion Dip
Ingredients
2 tablespoons canola oil
1 tablespoon butter
2 Vidalia onions, sliced into 1/4-inch rings (about 4 cups)
2 large shallots, sliced into 1/8-inch rings (about 1/2 cup)
2 cups sour cream (I used nonfat yogurt)
1 cup mayonnaise (I used low fat mayo)
1 teaspoon celery salt
1 teaspoon Worcestershire
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 teaspoon salt

Method
In a large saute pan over medium high heat, add oil and butter. When butter is melted, add onions and saute stirring occasionally until golden brown and caramelized, about 35 minutes. Add shallots and saute for 15 minutes more until onions and shallots are dark brown. Remove from heat and let cool for 5 to 6 minutes, then chop into 1/4-inch pieces. Set aside to cool to room temperature.

Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, combine sour cream, mayonnaise, celery salt, Worcestershire, salt and pepper. Fold in onion mixture. Chill at least 1 hour or overnight, prior to serving.

Cook’s Note: Dip can be pureed until creamy. If too thick, add milk to get desired consistency.

Happy Baking! (And Cooking!)
Clara

PS: YAY SAINTS!

Leave a Reply

