The Great Experiment: Chocolate Chip Cookies

I know what your thinking: “OMG ANOTHER CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE RECIPE? CLARA, GET OVER YOURSELF.” But I’m wanting to make something original, something yummy, something my own that would make me world famous so that I would brainwasheveryoneandsoonenoughtakeovertheentireplanetMUAHAHAHAHA.

What?

No, I’m doing these experiments just to try out ratios of ingredients. I’ll do these chocolate chip ones once a week until I find the perfect ratio. I don’t want to lose you. I’m sorry. I do what I want. I want to make chocolate chip cookies.

Okay. So I’ve taken notes in my chicken-scratch handwriting (maybe I won’t scan them, I won’t make you mad.) in terms of what different ratios of sugars mean to cookies. I’ve learned this:

-> A higher ratio of brown sugar equals a cookie that is thick and melt-in-your-mouth-y. Also makes a nice caramelly flavor.
-> A higher ratio of white sugar equals a crispier cookie, also a sweeter cookie.

So I wanted to make an experiment where I do higher amounts of brown sugar to white sugar, then equal amounts of brown sugar to white sugar, then higher amounts of white sugar to brown sugar. Its all worth a go. From there, I can formulate a nice recipe for the perfect chocolate chip cookie; or at least what I would consider one to be.

Can’t you tell that I don’t get out much?

Anyway. I made these little fellows with the higher-ratio of brown sugar to white sugar. To make them a bit moister, I added an egg yolk. They are tasty, but I think I baked them a little too long. They don’t look done on the edges, just on the bottom. I learned this with the first dozen, so I lowered the baking time. I found the ideal time to be between 15 and 17 minutes. 15 for flattened cookies, and 17 for cookies that haven’t been flattened. They are supposed to be soft, and so they might feel a bit TOO soft when you take them out, however, they will stiffen a bit once out of the oven.

Chocolate Chip Cookies: Brown Sugar Yums
Ingredients
3/4 C. Unsalted Butter, room temperature
1 C. packed Brown Sugar
1/2 C. White Sugar
1 Egg + 1 Egg yolk
2 1/4 C. All-Purpose Flour
1/2 tsp. Salt
1/2 tsp. Baking Powder
1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
1 1/2 tsp. Instant Espresso Powder
2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
1/4 tsp. Almond Extract
1 1/2 C. Bittersweet Chocolate Chips

Method
Makes 3 dozen.
-Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, sift together the flour, baking soda, salt and baking powder, set aside.
1. In the bowl of a heavy duty electric mixer, cream the butter until lightened. Add in both sugars and cream until light and fluffy, about three minutes. Add in the egg, egg yolk, and both extracts. Mix until combined then add in espresso powder.
2. Slowly pour in flour mixture and mix until combined. Fold in chocolate chips and drop by rounded tablespoons onto a parchment paper-lined baking sheet. Flatten slightly with your palm.
3. Bake for 15-17 minutes, or until the tops appear slightly crackled and slightly drier. Allow to cool on sheets for 2 minutes, transfer to cooling racks and cool completely. Store cookies in an airtight container for up to a week.

Happy Baking!
Clara

2 responses to “The Great Experiment: Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Hey!
    Just wanted to let you know that I tried this recipe tonight!
    They were very good. I loved the crispy outside and chewy texture! I am looking forward to the rest of your experiments! Chocolate-chip cookies are my fave!
    ~Vicki

Leave a Reply

