Cuppy Cake Gumdrops.

Today, my buddy Chandler came over to bake with me!


This is her dishing them out. We were so excited.


(Fabulous picture courtesy of Chandler!)

I was running on the treadmill while watching Real Housewives of Orange County (the best) when I got her text. Since we didn’t have school today because of the snow, we had nothign to do! So We decided to make cupcakes with BUTTERCREAM.

Buttercream Recipe Here
QUICK NOTE ABOUT THE BUTTERCREAM: In Julia Child speak: “DON’T BE AFRAID!” and “SAVE THE LIVER” (<-okay, not really). But the buttercream will look curdled, don't give up, keep beating the tar out of it and it will become thick and yummy and fattening. Just how its supposed to be.

So we made Martha’s One Bowl Chocolate Cupcakes (super easy, btw)

I mean, they were okay

Just okay.

Okay.

Maybe I was lying. Hi, Jillian Michaels…sorry again.

The recipe is from Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes, but the actual recipe is not listed on the website, so I will write it out here.

One-Bowl Chocolate Cupcakes
Ingredients
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup unsweetened Dutch-process
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
3/4 cup buttermilk
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3/4 cup warm water

Method
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line standard muffin tins with paper liners. With an electric mixer on medium speed, whisk together flour, cocoa, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Reduce speed to low. Add eggs, buttermilk, oil, extract, and water; beat until smooth and combined, scraping down sides of bowl as needed.
2. Divide batter evenly among lined cups, filling each about two-thirds full. Bake, rotating tins halfway through, until a cake tester inserted in center comes out clean, about 20 minutes. Transfer tins to wire racks to cool 10 minutes; turn out cupcakes onto racks and cool completely.

I filled a pastry bag with the buttercream and used my new 1M Ateco tip. Love it! So pretty!

Happy baking!
Clara

6 responses to “Cuppy Cake Gumdrops.

  1. Hi Clara,
    My sister shared this website with me and I am glad she did. You are crazy talented! You are entertaining, and the pics are a-maz-ing! Keep up the good work. Geez I need to go find a cupcake somewhere now.

  2. Yummy looking cupcake and great photos too.

  3. You’re welcome. If you wonder about my avatar, I make cloth dolls too, as well as a bunch of other stuff. That’s Zelda, a gypsy from the Bronx.

    • Haha! That’s awesome! I was never that great at sewing, but I try! I think I have about…ten unfinished knit scarves (LOL). Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

