Confetti Cake Truffles

I’m not saying the box brand because I have no right to. I made this from scratch because I wanted to see if it were possible to make a homemade version of the cake.

It tastes different, but I like it, its good. But the recipe, I looked, made THREE sheet cake pans worth.

THREE.

THREE.

That’s too much. So I took the liberty of diving the recipe by three then multiplying that by two to get two-thirds of a recipe. A lot of work, but a lot more forgiving. Three cakes is simply too much! I thought that the cake was pretty good. I’ve never found white cake to be that exciting. I guess that’s why I added almost 1/4 cup of sprinkles to the mix! I also didn’t want to fork out six egg whites (I’ve wasted so many yolks and whites in the past two days, I felt like…awful) so I used powdered egg whites (in accordance to the recommendations on the package. I used 1/4 cup powdered egg whites to 3/4 cup of water in place of the regular egg whites. No difference in taste; I didn’t expect there to be any.

Meh, not that ‘perfect’. But that’s why you crumble it up, add in some cream cheese frosting and extra sprinkles, roll it into balls, and then dip it in chocolate! But that’s just me. I’m that kinda gal.

Perfect White Cake
Ingredients (RE MEASURED FROM ORIGINAL RECIPE)
12 T. Unsalted Butter
3 C. cake flour
1 C. whole milk
6 egg whites (or 1/4 cup powdered egg whites)
1 and 1/4 + 1/8 C. Sugar
2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
1/8 tsp. Almond Extract
4 tsp. Baking Powder
1 tsp. Salt
1/4 C. sprinkles.

Method
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour three (TWO FOR THE REMEASURED) 9-by-2-inch round cake pans, tapping out excess flour; set aside.
In a medium bowl, stir together, milk, egg whites, and extracts. Into a second medium bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt; set aside.
In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the butter on medium speed for 30 seconds. With machine running, gradually add the sugar. Continue beating until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes. Scrape down sides of bowl as necessary.
Add one-third of the flour mixture and one-third of the milk mixture, and beat on low speed until just incorporated. Add remaining flour and milk mixtures in 2 separate batches beating between additions to fully incorporate. Scrape down sides of bowl, and stir by hand to finish. Fold in the sprinkles.
Divide batter evenly between prepared pans. Smooth surface with a rubber spatula. Bake until top of cake springs back when lightly pressed and a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean, 25 to 30 minutes.
Let cakes cool in pans on wire racks for 5 minutes. Run a small metal spatula around the sides of the pan, and invert cakes onto greased racks. Reinvert cakes onto cooling rack. Let cool completely before filling.

Cream Cheese frosting recipe listed in “Staple Recipes” page.

-Once cooled, crumple cake finely (I pulse in my food processor) and add in 16 ounces of cream cheese frosting and mix thoroughly.
-Roll mixture into balls and refrigerate until firm, about thirty minutes to an hour depending on the size.
-Melt chocolate, adding a bit of oil to make the mixture more fluid. Dip the ball into the chocolate and then lift with a fork, use a spoon to ladle chocolate on top, shake off excess chocolate and transfer truffle to a parchment-lined sheetpan. Repeat until all the balls are covered.
-Refridgerate until chocolate is hard.
-Enjoy!

Happy Baking!
Clara

2 responses to “Confetti Cake Truffles

  1. Clara,

    These look delicious! After reading about the Neiman Marcus chocolate chip cookies, I didn’t think I could find anything as fantastic, yet I stand corrected! I can’t wait to bake with you tomorrow : )

    Chandler

Leave a Reply

