Chocolate Thumbprints, Don’t You Forget About Me

I’m making this quick. I’m watching “The Breakfast Club” (Best movie ever. Why are teenage angst movies from the 80’s so amazing? Probably because I relate to them. Well…I’m not the ‘basketcase’ or the ‘brain’…you can consider me a bit of both. Its fun to figure this stuff out. For me it is. I need a life)

I made some chocolate thumbprints as a birthday present for another friend and coworker. She told me that it was going to be her birthday a few weeks ago and I remembered from when I worked at the bagel shop this summer that her fav cookies that I made were these thumbprints. I bet I surprised her by remembering her birthday! I just like doing that. I’m cute this way.

I wrapped these using some chocolate brown ribbon. Love it.

I ate one.

Then worked out with Jillian Michaels. Hi Jillian…I know it’s been awhile…and I’ve eaten some sugary things…please don’t hurt me. Jillian Michaels Burn Fat Boost Metabolism. Buy it, regret the purchase during the first workout, then love the results.

Chocolate Thumbprints
Ingredients
12 tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter
1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
4 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped
1 1/2 teaspoons light corn syrup
(I added about four capfulls of milk to bring the dough together, its like a shortbread in that its a bit dry. The milk just makes it easier to handle. But you can use cream, I won’t tell)

Method
Heat oven to 350 degrees. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat together 1 stick butter, sugar, salt, and vanilla on medium-high speed until smooth, about 2 minutes. Beat in flour, beginning on low speed and increasing to medium high.
Roll dough by teaspoonfuls into balls, and place 1 inch apart on an ungreased baking sheet. Bake for 10 minutes, remove from oven, and press thumb into tops of cookies to make indentations. Return to oven, and bake until light brown on the edges, 7 to 9 minutes more. Remove to a wire rack to cool.
Combine chocolate, 4 tablespoons butter, and corn syrup in a small heat-proof bowl. Set over a pot of simmering water; stir occasionally until melted and smooth. Allow to cool slightly. When cookies are cool, fill the thumbprints with the chocolate mixture.

Happy Baking!
Clara

2 responses to “Chocolate Thumbprints, Don’t You Forget About Me

  1. This picture is amazing! And the mellow looks super yummy as well. I love this website! Keep it up the good work!

  2. hahah, wait, not mellow ( I was thinking of our Skype Conversation earlier!!), thumbprint! Yummy and the rose is beautiful! I love it! It makes me want to bake.

Leave a Reply

