TWD: Chocolate Oatmeal Almost-Candy Bars

Okay. It’s Wednesday.
Okay, it’s not TECHNICALLY this Tuesday. I’m learning.
So, I already taught you that I bought Baking: From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan last week. One of the main reasons I did so was so I could participate in Tuesdays with Dorie. I’m excited. I get excited for many reasons. But I’m excited nonetheless.

The pictures stink this time (as well as last time 😦 ) I get home from school at 3:45, take a nice nap and then bake. Then I mope around and realize that its dark out. Oh well. I’ll stop complaining. I’m good at complaining. (embarrassing..)

So, this week (well, last week), the recipe was Chocolate Oatmeal Almost-Candy Bars selected by Lillian from Confectionista’s Realm

They’re gooey because I got impatient and cut into them after two hours of chilling instead of three. Love it. Haha.
The only thing I left out were the raisins. 1.) I don’t like raisins and 2.) We didn’t have any. So it’s all good. I thought they were tasty. A little sweet on the chocolate layer, but not bad. But what I LOVED was that COOKIE LAYER. Holy mackerel king of cinnamon and butter and brown sugar land, thank you…thank you.

One subsitution that was not really. I used the low fat condensed milk, I don’t sense any change at all. It was good. I really hate peanuts, but they were really nice in here.

Have at it!

Happy Baking!
Clara

Leave a Reply

