Best Chocolate Chip Cookies


(It’s night out, so not a great picture today…sadface)

Now, this is the recipe title. I didn’t necessarily call them the “best”. I was simply scanning through the interwebz (because I can and I’m bored and there’s no school today and I’ve already worked out and-okay I’ll shut up) for a chocolate chip cookie recipe to work with while on my mission to look for the true ‘great’ chocolate chip cookie. So far, I’ve got the Neiman Marcus ones under my belt labeled as “Gosh darnit, no one can beat these”. When I saw this recipe that received rave reviews and dared to call itself the ‘best’.

Do I sense I challenge, sir? Oh, I’ve gotcha covered.

Well. One comment real quick. For a recipe that has so much sugar in it, these really aren’t all that sweet. They are more…nutty. I can taste the brown sugar in it. Not saying that’s a bad thing, per say, I’m just saying…I can taste the brown sugar. That’s all. I guess that’s a classic thing. Everyone is like “I’ve baked for 70 billion years and these are the best ever! They remind me of the olden times when I would come home from spending hours at the stable in the blizzard and walking ten miles barefoot…” Okay, I’m exaggerating, you get the idea. These are more “old-fashioned”. To be honest, I like a buttery sweet flavor, not so much nutty. These are good, but certainly not the best. Also, they take a lot longer than ten minutes, more like sixteen. I got impatient and used the broiler for about a minute. Crispy brown tops! Chewy middles! Not bad, kimosabe, not bad.

Oh, but the definate PRO to these is the fact that they have a crispy edge and a chewy center. That’s hard to get.

And they’re pretty…

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies
Ingredients
1 cup butter, softened
1 cup white sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons hot water
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup chopped walnuts (I OMITed these)

Method
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
Cream together the butter, white sugar, and brown sugar until smooth. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Dissolve baking soda in hot water. Add to batter along with salt. Stir in flour, chocolate chips, and nuts. Drop by large spoonfuls onto ungreased pans.
Bake for about 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until edges are nicely browned.

Happy Baking!
Clara

2 responses to “Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. These look absolutely delicious-nothing beats a warm chocolate chip cookie straight from the oven 🙂

    I’m so glad to have stumbled upon your baking blog-I will definitely be back!

Leave a Reply

