Orange Creme Truffles

Today was an experiment. Though the creme definitely tastes good, it didn’t get NEARLY as thick as I wanted it to. See, I wanted a nice rich ganache-type center, but it was more of a creme… hense the creme in the name. Haha.

Now, it goes well with the snap of the chocolate shell and crunch of the candied orange peel. But next time I make these, I’m going to up the chocolate amount to probably 1 1/2-2 cups instead of one. But, if you want to have a nice creamy center like the one I got, that would definitely suffice!

My idea was inspired by those chocolate oranges. You know? The ones you get as a stocking stuffer, that you BANG on the floor, and you have some lovely chocolatey-orangey segments that delight you? I mean…delight…I’m having memories and my mouth is watering. Let’s hurry before I short out my keyboard.

Orange and chocolate is a very classic combination, so I then thought of how to get that orangey-ness into a solid form. So, I thought making a creamy white chocolate ganache would work well. The end result was a creamy and rich flavor with a bright orange hint. I added zest and juice to the cream and let it steep. It reminded me of a dreamsickle. Yum. Now to get that thicker… I’ll make this again when it disappears. They may be uber melty and creamy…but I want to have ten more and I know I shouldn’t-but-maybe-I’ll-have-another-bite-no-I-won’t-yes-I-will.

Enjoy these critters! Up the white chocolate count to 1 1/2-2 cups to experiment on your own. I’m pretty sure they will be thicker that way. I had to whip mine in order to get them to stand, since it was pretty liquidy after 12 hours of refrigeration. It’s all about trial and error.

Orange Cream Truffles
Ingredients
8 oz. Heavy Cream
8 oz. Good-Quality White Chocolate (for a thin consistency, 12 or 16 oz. for thicker), finely chopped
1 1/2 tsp fresh orange zest
1 1/2 tsp. fresh squeezed orange juice
Candied orange zest (recipe below)
Melted dark chocolate

Method
1. Put chocolate in food processor. Add heavy cream, zest, and juice to a saucepan and heat until just boiling. Pour cream over chocolate and allow to sit for 2 minutes.
2. Pulse until smooth, be careful not to over-process. Pour mixture into a bowl and refrigerate for 4 hours until thickened.
3. Place mixture into the bowl of a heavy-duty mixer fitted with a whisk attachment. Whisk on high for 3-4 minutes, or until thick and stiffened. (if you are making the recipe with 1 1/2 cups white chocolate to get a thick ganache, OMIT this step)
4. Using a 2 T. disher, place balls into a cookie sheet and refrigerate until firm.
5. Dip into chocolate and place onto parchment paper. Top with candied orange peel and freeze for 10 minutes, or until chocolate is hardened. Enjoy!
-Refrigerate in an air-tight container for up to 3 days, or freeze for up to 6 months. (HINT: They freeze EXCELLENTLY)

Candied Orange Zest
Ingredients
Zest of 1 orange, cut into ribbons
Sugar (by weight)

Method
Prepare cooling rack by placing it over some foil, spray rack with non-stick spray.
1. Zest orange, being careful to not have any pith on the pieces. Cut into ribbons about 1 inch long and 1/8 inch wide.
2. In a small saucepan, boil zest with water. Pour out. Repeat this process 3 times (it removes the bitterness), reserving 1 tablespoon of the water. Drain zest.
3. Weigh orange zest in the saucepan and put in an equal weight of sugar. Add water and heat on medium-high, stirring constantly until the sugar starts to crystallize and the pan starts to look dry. Be CAREFUL, the sugar will go from this stage to burned VERY quickly.
4. Place zest on the cooling rack. Mind the heat, and work to separate any stuck-together pieces. If you can’t do this, its alright. Allow to cool for twenty minutes.
5. Chop fine. Use to top ice cream or even truffles!

Happy Baking!
Clara

Leave a Reply

