Classic Chocolate Cake with Ganache Frosting

Now, it took me some time to muster the strength to get into the kitchen and bake a cake for a freshman in my peer group for tomorrow. You see, over the weekend, I had one heck of a bad cold. Luckily, yesterday I started going up on the percentage scale. Yesterday, I was a 65%, today, I’m 95%. No more cold! Hooray!

Oh..why 95%? I have homework that I still have to do.

But its all good, I got my cake done AND kept the kitchen clean. NO JOKE. I know, it’s too much to take. (I’ll try to get a cut piece picture tomorrow, this guy has to stay intact for someone’s BDay!)

Anyway, I made the “Perfect Chocolate Cake” from the Hershey’s. Except, instead of milk, I used low fat yogurt; to up the moistness factor. It did, its a STINKIN’ good cake. I then made a ganache frosting, I’ll give you the recipe. Its super simple. Oh, and I wrote on the cake by making a simple buttercream from the Wilton website. Here’s the LINK to it.

Hershey’s “Perfectly Chocolate” Cake
Ingredients
2 cups sugar
1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa
1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 cup milk (I used plain low fat yogurt)
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup boiling water

Method
1. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour two 9-inch round baking pans.

2. Stir together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt in large bowl. Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla; beat on medium speed of mixer 2 minutes. Stir in boiling water (batter will be thin). Pour batter into prepared pans.

3. Bake 30 to 35 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes; remove from pans to wire racks. Cool completely. Frost with “PERFECTLY CHOCOLATE” CHOCOLATE FROSTING. 10 to 12 servings.

Yummy Ganache Frosting
Ingredients
1 cup coarsely chopped bittersweet chocolate
1 cup coarsely chopped semisweet chocolate
16 oz. heavy cream
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Method
1. Place chocolate in food processor.
2. Heat heavy cream on high in a microwave safe bowl for 2-3 minutes, or until barely boiling (the skin that forms on top is fine, it disappears). Pour cream on top of chocolate and ALLOW TO SIT FOR FIVE MINUTES.
3. Process until smooth (its better to pulse it), pulse in vanilla extract.
4. Transfer ganache to a bowl and refrigerate for two hours.
5. Place cooled ganache into the bowl of a heavy duty mixer fitted with the whisk attachment and mix on high for 3 minutes, or until thick and starting to stiffen.
6. Frost on completely cooled cake. Enjoy!

Happy Baking!
Clara

EDIT: Here it is!

2 responses to “Classic Chocolate Cake with Ganache Frosting

  1. oh wow–that is a fantastically chocolatey cake!!

Leave a Reply

