Cherry Turnovers are so nice.

You know, I’m REALLY getting into this food photography thing now that I have gotten my camera. Its so much fun to play with composition, color, and photoshop. I’ve shown my AP Studio teacher some of my pictures, and she thinks that – alongside my drawing portfolio – that I do a 2D portfolio of food photography! I’m flattered, I strive to get better at it as well! When I have my own bakery and write my own cookbook, I’m planning on doing the graphics and photography, lending all of myself to my dream. I sound cheesy, but its true.

Anyway, today, before I went to the movies and the Museum of Natural History with my aunt and cousins, I decided I had some puff pastry dough in my freezer that I REALLY wanted to play with. Though simple, my favorite pastry has to be the cherry turnover. So I just wanted to make some of those. I had some canned light cherry pie filling in the pantry and an orange. I love orange zest, and I felt that it would intensify the cherry flavor. It did! It gave it some complexity that I really liked.

I thawed the dough (but got impatient and worked with it before it got to room temp, so it got a bit dry and crackly, but psh, who cares. Lol), put about, oh, 1 1/2 teaspoons of orange zest into the cherry pie filling, and added four cherries per rectangle (I cut twelve rectangles), folded the dough over, and sealed the sides with the tines of a fork. I brushed some egg wash on, and made a fun “Z” shape on top for ventillation.

They were easy and tasty, I had one for dinner and mmm. My goal though, is to make my own puff pastry. That would be awesome…

Cherry Turnovers
Ingredients
Two sheets thawed puff pastry dough
One can cherry pie filling
1 1/2 teaspoons orange zest
1 egg beaten with 1 teaspoon of water

Method
Preheat oven to 425 degrees
1. Cut the dough into 12 rectangles, about six per sheet, and place six per parchment-lined sheet paper.
2. Mix orange zest with pie filling. Drop about four cherries and 1 1/2 teaspoons of their juice to each rectangle.
3. Fold each rectangle over, seal the sides with the tines of a fork. Brush egg wash all over the top, and make a slash on the top.
4. Bake each sheet pan one at a time for 15-18 minutes, or until the puff pastry is nice and golden brown. Remove to cooling rack. Enjoy warm or at room temperature. They should be fine stored in an airtight container or zip-top bag at room temperature for up to 3 days, the refridgerator might make them lose their crispiness.

Happy Baking!
Clara

One response to “Cherry Turnovers are so nice.

  1. Your food photos are truly professional and amazing. Just having a camera doesn’t give you an eye for lighting and composition. You are a true artist, Clara.

Leave a Reply

