Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow! Oh, and Snickerdoodles.

After almost two years of growing the mop that is my hair, 12 inches of it has finally been hacked off and sent off to Locks of Love. I’ll show some before and after pictures below! ITS FINALLY GONE! My hair is so thick my stylist separated it into two ponytails, haha. I’m so glad, and I feel good for doing it as well!

I made some snickerdoodles for my peer group using a recipe from Cookie Madness (the link is in my blogroll). It’s an authentic recipe using cream of tartar and shortening. Though I know the shortening and butter combination adds to the texture of the finished product, I don’t know what the purpose of the cream of tartar is. It didn’t effect flavor, I’ll do some research on that and keep you posted.

All in all, they are tasty and flaky! A chewy top and lightly crispy bottom and good flavor. Enjoy these while I enjoy my new look.

Snickerdoodles
Ingredients
1/2 cup shortening — softened
1/2 cup butter or margarine — softened
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cream of tartar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 eggs
2 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Method
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
In a large bowl cream shortening, butter, the 1&1/2 cups sugar, salt, cream of tartar, baking soda and vanilla.
Beat in eggs one at a time; Stir in flour.
Mix together the sugar and cinnamon. Form dough into 1 inch balls, press into sugar cinnamon mix and place on cookie sheet. Bake for 10 minutes or until browned around edges.
Makes about 46 cookies

Happy Baking!
Clara

Leave a Reply

