Williams-Sonoma Classic Pumpkin Pie

I love pumpkin pie. Love it love it love it. I also always knew that there was a better way than looking on the back of the can for the recipe (I’m not knocking on it, that recipe is awesome), but I wanted to have a try at something new. Heck, I also wanted an excuse to make pie crust leaves.

So I looked to Williams-Sonoma Baking Book – a magical book that has never wronged me before – and I found this. This is a wonderful recipe, and I recommend it whole-heartedly! Its creamy, delicious, and so flavorful!

Williams-Sonoma Classic Pumpkin Pie

Ingredients
1 1/4 cups firmly packed dark brown sugar
1 Tbs. cornstarch
1/2 tsp. salt
1 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ground ginger
1/4 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg
1/8 tsp. ground cloves
2 cups pumpkin puree
3 eggs
1 cup heavy cream
1/3 cup milk
Prebaked and cooled deep-dish piecrust (see
related recipe at left)

Method
Preheat an oven to 375ºF.

In a bowl, whisk together the brown sugar, cornstarch, salt, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and cloves. Add the pumpkin, eggs, cream and milk and whisk to combine.

Pour the filling into the prebaked piecrust and bake until the center is set, 60 to 65 minutes, covering the edges of the crust with aluminum foil after 30 minutes if they brown too quickly.

Transfer the pie to a wire rack and let cool completely, at least 2 hours, before serving. Serves 10.

I made a half-recipe of pie crust and formed the leaves by hand, then brushed them with egg wash and baked them on parchment at 375 for twenty minutes or until golden brown. I put them on the pie after it was finished.

Happy Baking!
Clara

PS: OH, I had some batter left over, and I didn’t want to waste it. So I put some liners in muffin tins and poured it into them. I got about four of them, baked them at 375 for about 30 minutes (or until they were slightly firm in the center) and let them cool. They were so cute! Yummy too!

Leave a Reply

