Chewy Ginger Snaps

You know, I really need to learn to be more consistant.

But I guess I have a good excuse, I woke up and my nose was declaring war on my face. My parents went without me to see Pirate Radio (well, I rejected their request, for good reason. I don’t think that my fellow movie-goers would appreciate an ensemble of sneezing and rock and roll) But it gave me some initiative to experiment. So, I popped down three pieces of sinus-clearing candied ginger and considered ginger snaps.

I looked at all sorts of recipes, and noticed that they were all relatively medium on the ginger flavor and whatnot. So I got to thinking “Hey, if they are ginger snaps, lets make them GINGER snaps.”

Well that made a lot of sense. Anyway, my experiment turned out to be a success! Developing a new recipe is super fun! I prefer them crispy, but everyone else likes them chewy (so much for the whole ‘snap’ appeal..) so i baked them for a little less time than I REALLY wanted to. Anyway, here goes.

ginger snaps

I requested a better camera for Christmas. Thank goodness for photoshop.


Mom: I wouldn’t buy those cookies from that person
Me: Wait, why not?
Mom: That picture, I mean, what are those things?
Me: Candied ginger…
Mom: Oh, well, it doesn’t make me want the cookies
Me; I took the picture
Mom: Oh…never mind then

THANKS MOMMY.
Candied Ginger Ginger Snaps
Ingredients
10 Tbs Unsalted Butter, room temp. (if using salted, halve the amount of salt you put into the recipe)
Reserved sugar from 1 recipe crystallized ginger (should be one cup)
6 Tbs plus 2 Tbs Molasses
1 egg
1 T fresh grated ginger
1 T ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground cloves (grinding them fresh REALLY helps)
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
2 1/8 cups all purpose flour
1 large egg
1/2 cup finely chopped candied ginger (preferably homemade)
Granulated sugar, for rolling (optional)

Method
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Put in the ginger sugar with the 2 tablespoons of molasses (if you don’t have an exact cup of ginger, that’s okay, just add 2 tablespoons of white sugar) and beat until completely combined. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and the beaters until all molasses pebbles are incorporated. (You might have some molasses on the beater when you are done, that’s okay.) Add the butter and fresh ginger and cream for 3 minutes on medium-high, or until light and fluffy. Add the egg and molasses, beat until combine, about two minutes. Set aside.

Combine flour, ground ginger, cinnamon, clove, baking soda, salt, and chopped candied ginger. Whisk thoroughly. In three increments, beat in the flour mixture, making sure that it is thoroughly combined. DO NOT OVERBEAT. Using either a heaping teaspoon, or, even better, a size 100 ice cream disher (I only have these because my dad has a restaurant supply business), scoop dough balls into the sugar for rolling and coat. Put on parchment paper or silicone baking pad (like Exopat or Silpat) and space 2 inches apart. For chewy cookies, bake for 12 minutes. For crispy cookies, 15 minutes. Turning the sheets halfway through if you don’t trust your oven for even baking. Allow finished cookies to rest on the baking sheet for two minutes before transferring to cooling rack.

Flickr link coming soon

Happy Baking! Sorry for the cruddy picture!
Clara

2 responses to “Chewy Ginger Snaps

  1. This recipe sounds wonderful. I agree that using the fresh spices makes a huge difference!

Leave a Reply

