Sun Dried Tomato Bread

I hate tomatoes. I hate them with a boiling fire (fire boils?) that I never knew brewed within my gut. I try to like them, but ugh. Gag city.

Sun dried tomatoes on the other hand… That’s a different story.

I love these little morsels so much. I remember that when I first tried them, I was a bit wary. It was actually at a local sandwich place that I tried their Sun Dried Tomato bread with my turkey sandwich. Ho-ly cow. I thought that I died and went to heaven. Why don’t tomatoes taste like this? Well, sun dried ones do, but that’s a different story.

I had always wanted to make a batch of bread, but I was nervous to. Then, today, I thought “Heck, why not?” and I DID. I discovered this little recipe from this website: Cooking Bread. I call it a gem.

The process can be found on my flickr!HERE!

Its so zesty and yummy with a not-too chewy, moist crumb. Its crust is crunchy (kind of like an artisan-type. Oh man) I could eat a whole loaf; it isn’t even that bad! If you cut 13 3/4″ slices, I calculated them to be about 70 calories each. WHAT? NO WAY. Yes way.

You’re welcome.

Bread of awesome

Sun-Dried Tomato Bread: Makes 2 loaves

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast
  • 1/4 cup lukewarm water
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon sun-dried tomato oil
  • 1/2 cup sun-dried tomatoes (chopped, oil-packed, drained tomatoes)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 1/2 cup flour (unbleached)
  • 1 egg (large, beaten)
  • 2 tablespoons chives (chopped finely)
  • 2 garlic cloves (minced)
  • 2 tablespoons cilantro (freshly chopped, finely)

Method

Pour lukewarm water into a bowl and mix in sugar. Sprinkle dry yeast on top. Set aside to activate. In a small saucepan, heat 1 cup of water to 120 degrees. Add salt and oil. Remove. Add 1 1/2 cup of flour to the warm water. Stir in yeast mixture with a wooden spoon. Continue to stir till dough becomes smooth. Add sun-dried tomatoes, eggs, chives, garlic and cilantro. Place dough on a lightly floured surface and knead for 6-8 minutes. Add just enough of the remaining flour to make a stiff dough. Place dough into a greased bowl. Cover with plastic wrap till double. Punch down and let double again. Punch down dough. Place dough on a lightly floured surface. Cut dough in half and allow to rest for 10 minutes. Shape dough into two round loaves. Place loaves on a greased cookie sheet. Cover again, till double. Place bread into a pre-heated 375 F oven. Bake 40-45 min.

PS. I let the dough rise for about an hour and a half each rise. The final rise after you formed the loaves, I let this work for about forty five minutes. Also, I let the dough rise in a steamy oven. Get some REALLY hot water into a baking pan and put it in the bottom of the oven and put your bowl into the oven. The steam helps the dough not get a crust and dry out, and the heat from the water actually warms the oven to the perfect rising temperature! Do this for both rises, and half of the final rise. You need that oven! Just cover the loaves when they are rising out of the oven.

See you tomorrow!

Clara

Leave a Reply

