Simply Photos

I have been back for almost two weeks, and while I haven’t baked anything particularly new yet (I will be, soon!) I did manage to be the sole chef for Thanksgiving (a week long process that was oh so worth it). I made a brined turkey, cornbread stuffing (cornbread from scratch!), candied yams with marshmallows (just boil those sweet potatoes [ope! Did I not tell you? Sweet potatoes are 'yams' yet yams aren't sweet potatoes...interesting...] and mash em up!), roasted garlic mashed potatoes, homemade cranberry sauce, slow-cooked green beans with shallots and pancetta, Pumpkin Cheesecake (oh goodness I’ll have to remake and share THAT recipe with you! Soooo GOOD) and Pumpkin pie, both with homemade pumpkin puree, because my grocery store ran out of canned pumpkin yet had a plethora of sugar pumpkins? Pumpkin shortage my pah-tootay. Oh…and rolls that I made earlier this year, found no use for at the time, then tossed them in the freezer, I just tossed them in the oven for a few minutes to thaw and warm. No bigs.

Anyway, I am recovered from that all-week ordeal. The past weekend consisted of randomly falling asleep and waking up on the couch three hours later, bewildered, and wondering what time and day it was and why I was here. Okay, exaggeration, but you get the idea if you volunteered for the extreme responsibility.

I got straight A’s this quarter at school! For my tenure there, I have always had that ONE professor who simply WILL NOT give you an A (you know what I’m talking about) its as if they’re allergic to it. Not this quarter! It was certainly a toughie, I was so busy I just sat in my room for work, only to emerge from the depths to get breakfast, lunch, or dinner, then went back to disappear again. I cannot believe I got an A in my photography course that I took. It seemed like that professor wanted a certain thing out of the photography from everyone. When I take food photography, I want to convey a level of deliciousness (but of course!) as well as an artistic quality. My final portfolio consisted of a combination of black and white and color images of cupcakes, muffins, and cookies, while still maintaining a collective balance. Her critique was good, but had its points to it, stating that she didn’t find black and white food photography appetizing. I agree with her, it isn’t, but I put those images in to give an artful addition. I have my second thoughts on it, but I’m pleased overall. The critique was constructive, and so that was helpful. I thought I would show you some of the pieces!





I think I’m going to dig into my inner architect and draw plans out for a gingerbread house. I’ll post soon! I PROMISE!

Happy Baking!
Clara

2 responses to “Simply Photos

  1. Hi Clara! Loved reading your blog. The photos are amazing. Did you know Mom used to make homemade gingerbread houses when I was little? They were about 3-4 stories high and had little tiny gingerbread sofas, beds, etc covered in icing. I remember a tiny aqua blue sofa white little white polka dots. She put it in the window behind the piano. A special memory for me.
    Love you, littlest Sis!

  2. I need to know where she put HER templates…

Leave a Reply

