Happy Blogiversary!


I did it! I can’t believe that on November 7, 2009, I made a vow to make this a successful blog, and I doubted myself even then. Well, I can say that I am seasoned, as this is my 100th post. Out of the few blogs I created, this is the first one that I have carried on and remembered to post with past the introductory post. I created this blog with a vision, and I intend to carry on that vision well into the future. Thank you for all the support :).

I wanted to do something special for this very special post, so I just decided to make some chocolate chocolate cookies. Develop my own recipe, so in the very beginning I melted the chocolate with the butter and didn’t use so much flour. What I ended up with was a cookie that looked like this:

As you saw in the first first picture, they are flat flat flat. HOWEVER, I noticed one other thing; they tasted so much like the levain double chocolate cookies that I could hardly stand it! I had to make them again, tweaking them so they wouldn’t be so flat and owuld have that rich consistency. What I did for the first batter was that the butter and the chocolate were melted together, similar to a brownie batter. To get some height, I figured that keeping the fat solid, it would help it puff a little more. I also added one less egg to the new batter.

It takes about five minutes to cream the butter to the light and fluffy point, please take it there, its very important. To that, you want to add in your dutch process cocoa and espresso powder.

See? Handy guide! Excuse my chicken scratch, but you want to beat those togther until thoroughly mixed, then add in the eggs one at a time. The batter will get light in color.

Like that, I also used two different chocolates in both batters, half semisweet and half bittersweet. I baked it following the same times as the other levain copycat that I made before. The result?

THERE YOU HAVE IT, MY FRIENDS. This cookie OWNS the other one… the picture even says so. See? There you go. You’re welcome.

The cookies are best when they are fresh, but when you pop them in the microwave for ten-fifteen seconds, the consistency gets very similar. So good! I didn’t even realize I did it.

Levain Bakery Double Chocolate Chocolate Chip Copycat
Ingredients
1 stick plus 1 T. unsalted butter, room temperature
1 1/2 C. Granulated Sugar
1/4 C. plus 2 T. Dutch Process Cocoa Powder
1 T. Espresso Powder
2 Eggs
2 1/4 C. All Purpose Flour
2 Tsp. Baking Powder
3/4 Tsp. Sea Salt (or Kosher)
1 C. Semisweet Chocolate Chips (or chopped chunks)
1 C. Bittersweet Chocolate Chips (or chopped chunks)

Method
-Preheat oven to 375, prep pans with parchment paper and sift together flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
1. In the bowl of a heavy-duty electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, cream together sugar and butter on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. Add in cocoa and espresso and mix until well combined. Mix in eggs one at a time until well-incorporated.
2. Gradually add in flour mixture and mix in until just combined, scraping down bowl as needed. Fold in chocolate.
3. Using a 1 1/4 in. disher, scoop out dough balls and space 2 inches apart on pan. Bake for 10 minutes, then lower oven temperature to 350 and bake for 8 minutes longer. Allow to cool on pans for 1 minute then transfer to cooling rack. Enjoy them!

If you want to know the proportions for the flatter recipe, email me and let me know, I’ll tell ya :].

Happy Baking!
Clara

3 responses to “Happy Blogiversary!

  1. happy 100th post! and yum for those cookies

  2. Happy 100th post! Good job little sister!! Keep it up!!

Leave a Reply

