It’s Peanut Butter Jelly Time!

Where he at? Where he at? Where he at? Where he at? Now there he go! There he go! there he go! There he go!

Peanut butter jelly! Peanut butter jell-Okay, I’ll stop.
(for those of you don’t get it. Oh, i’ll be nice.

Today has been an interesting Saturday morning. I, unfortunately, cannot sleep in. Once the clock hits 6, I’m up and awake. My brain is an alarm on its own. So, here i am in the kitchen, looking around at ingredients while watching Paula Deen deep fry cupcakes.

My reaction, “Paula, I love you…but this is ridiculous!” I say as I combine sugar, peanut butter, and butter in my mixer. I don’t like peanut butter. I doon’t like peanuts. But I DO like Nutter-Butters. What? Yeah. However, they are too dry for me, and all the recipes for peanut butter cookies I have made were dry and crumbly, even if I underbaked them. So I wanted to make a new recipe, and I did, and holy mother goose….I should go to cookie prison. These are TASTY.

So, I got out me some peanut butter and mixed it with butter. (Where’s Paula when you need her?)

Then added the sugars and two eggs. (I was writing this as I was going, I find that fun now.)

Until it looked like this. Then you add in your flour (quickly realizing that your container is now empty, get mad, then find a new bag. Thank your parents and continue.) and oats (you MUST have these in there), salt, cinnamon, soda, and peanuts.


(By the way, you see the weight? A POUND. THIS WAS ALL THE STORE HAD. I got them when I was making those TWD almost candy bars. If you recall, I don’t like peanuts, but I have to get rid of them somehow.)

Then form it into balls. Make fun criss-cross patterns with a fork.

Bake and be happy…then suddenly get an IDEA.

Get some jam (I have seedless blackberry jam. God’s gift to man. But strawberry, grape, or any other of your favorites would work just fine.) Form some of the drops into little ‘nests’.

Can’t you see that Avery is interested?

Plunk in 1/2 tsp. of the jam into the nest, close up, and flatten a bit. You can close up as many cracks as you want, but if some poke through, its fine. The jam, remarkably, doesn’t seep out. Then bake. Eat. And wonder why peanut butter and jelly wasn’t this way when you were little. The cookie is yummy, and the jam helps it just melt in your mouth. I love ideas.

OH. AND LOOK AT WHAT CHANDLER GAVE ME.

She told me that she had my pan that I lent to her when she took home a dozen cupcakes in her car. So I told her that I would drive out to her car and meet her there. She brings out the pan, and then this (wrapped in Tiffany-blue satin ribbon, eee!) to say thank you for letting her come over and bake. That made my entire week. Thank you so much, Chandler!

Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookies
Ingredients
2 1/4 C. All-Purpose Flour
1 tsp. Baking Soda
1 tsp. Salt
1/2 tsp. Cinnamon
2 C. Old-Fashioned Rolled Oats
3/4 C. Coasely-Chopped Dry Roasted Peanuts (Reccomended: Planters)
1 1/2 sticks Unsalted Butter, room temperature
1 C. Smooth Peanut Butter (not natural, please)
3/4 C. Golden Brown Sugar
1/3 C. White Sugar
2 large Eggs
2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
Seedless Blackberry Jam (Strawberry or Grape would work just fine too) (you can leave these out and just have the peanut butter cookies, they are good too)

Method
->Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine flour, salt, cinnamon, baking soda, oats, and peanuts in a bowl and set aside.
1. Combine peanut butter and butter in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Mix on medium until thoroughly combined, about a minute. Add in both sugars and mix on medium until lighter in color, about two-three minutes. Mix in eggs, one at a time, and add in vanilla.
2. Gradually add in flour mixture and mix until just combined. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl to get all of the flour combined. If not all is in there, use a spatula or your hands.
3. Roll dough into 1 1/2-2 inch balls. (if OMITing the jam, flatten balls a bit by pressing down the tines of a fork in a criss-cross pattern.) Make a ‘pinch pot’ with the cookies and add in 1/2 tsp. of jam into the ‘pot’ and pinch to close. Flatten cookies slightly, getting as many cracks sealed as you can. Bake cookies in preheated oven for 12-13 minutes. Cookies will be golden and soft. Allow to cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes and transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely.
4. Cookies can be stored at room-temperature in an air-tight container for up to 3 days. You can refrigerate them or freeze them as well.

Happy Baking!
Clara

PS: Ack! How do I get views? I’m so confuuuuused.

5 responses to “It’s Peanut Butter Jelly Time!

  1. these are definitely right up there in the realm of heavenly. I need to try them!

  2. Pingback: Diigo bookmarks 02/11/2010 « Jill’s Place

  3. Is it ok if I use quick oats instead?

    • I wouldn’t, quick oats are rolled oats with basically everything removed. If you look at rolled oats, the grain is much larger and flatter, whereas a quick oat is very small and almost dainty. It wouldn’t work well in terms of texture and how dry the dough ends up to be.

Leave a Reply

