Bop It! Pull It! Twist It!

I’m not talking about a toy. I’m talking pretzels.

Here’s a fun fact about me.

I LOVE pretzels. And when I say LOVE, I mean LOVE. Like…more than life. I go to a local bagel shop and buy a salt bagel with mustard SPECIFICALLY BECAUSE it tastes like a pretzel. In Saint Louis, every time I go, there is this meat market that sells these frozen pretzel sticks that you toss in the oven for a few minutes with some salt, I HAVE to get these. I HAVE TO.

So I strived to make my OWN version of the expensive Super Pretzel. AND I DID. Thanks to Alton Brown.

I love you, Alton.

I didn’t add enough water, and realized this after I finishd making the pretzels and looked at the recipe again. I put in 1 1/4 cups, instead of 1 1/2 cups. No big deal, they were just a bit hard to roll into logs. But, whenever I get the opportunity to water boil things, I take it. I’ve made bagels before, and its awesome to boil them. I’m strange this way.

It rose in the hearth (ha), because our kitchen is cold as a result of the VAST QUANTITIES OF SNOW (did I mention that there is a lot of snow outside? Well, there is. Here in Oklahoma, we got A LOT OF SNOW.)
I worked with it, rolled it, SLAVED over it. Then got these cuties.

Then boiled them

Then eggwashed them/salted them

Then was gifted with the wonderment of the pretzel on the top of the page. THANK YOU LORD. SO good if not BETTER than the ones at the ballpark.

No, I will not hide from angry people. Not that there are any. Heh.

Homemade Soft Pretzels
Ingredients
1 1/2 cups warm (110 to 115 degrees F) water
1 tablespoon sugar
2 teaspoons kosher salt
1 package active dry yeast
22 ounces all-purpose flour, approximately 4 1/2 cups
2 ounces unsalted butter, melted
Vegetable oil, for pan
10 cups water
2/3 cup baking soda
1 large egg yolk beaten with 1 tablespoon water
Pretzel salt

Method
Combine the water, sugar and kosher salt in the bowl of a stand mixer and sprinkle the yeast on top. Allow to sit for 5 minutes or until the mixture begins to foam. Add the flour and butter and, using the dough hook attachment, mix on low speed until well combined. Change to medium speed and knead until the dough is smooth and pulls away from the side of the bowl, approximately 4 to 5 minutes. Remove the dough from the bowl, clean the bowl and then oil it well with vegetable oil. Return the dough to the bowl, cover with plastic wrap and sit in a warm place for approximately 50 to 55 minutes or until the dough has doubled in size.

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F. Line 2 half-sheet pans with parchment paper and lightly brush with the vegetable oil. Set aside.

Bring the 10 cups of water and the baking soda to a rolling boil in an 8-quart saucepan or roasting pan.

In the meantime, turn the dough out onto a slightly oiled work surface and divide into 8 equal pieces. Roll out each piece of dough into a 24-inch rope. Make a U-shape with the rope, holding the ends of the rope, cross them over each other and press onto the bottom of the U in order to form the shape of a pretzel. Place onto the parchment-lined half sheet pan.

Place the pretzels into the boiling water, 1 by 1, for 30 seconds. Remove them from the water using a large flat spatula. Return to the half sheet pan, brush the top of each pretzel with the beaten egg yolk and water mixture and sprinkle with the pretzel salt. Bake until dark golden brown in color, approximately 12 to 14 minutes. Transfer to a cooling rack for at least 5 minutes before serving.

Happy Baking! Enjoy your pretzels! Oh man. Help me.
Clara

5 responses to “Bop It! Pull It! Twist It!

  1. I just found your site and I love it! I think this pretzel recipe will have to be next on my list of things to bake! Thanks for the post!

    • Thank you so much for reading! These pretzels are certainly a go-to for me, they really are pretty easy and definately worth the wait for rising/baking.

  2. Those pretzels look great! I wish I had one right now. I am going to brave it and try these soon.

  3. Pingback: Apples and Cinnamon Pretzels « Clara Bakes

Leave a Reply

